

City of Portland Bureau of Planning and Sustainability

Sam Adams, Mayor Susan Anderson, Director

Planning

1900 S.W. 4th Ave., Ste. 7100 Portland, OR 97201-5350 Phone 503-823-7700 FAX 503-823-7800 TTY 503-823-6868

Sustainability

721 N.W. 9th Ave., Ste. 195 Portland, OR 97209-3447

Phone 503-823-7222 FAX 503-823-5311 TTY 503-823-6868

www.portlandonline.com/bps

An equal opportunity employer

MEMORANDUM

To: Mayor Sam Adams From: Susan Anderson, Director

Date: May 14, 2010

Title: Accept Report on Appointments to the Portland Plan Advisory Group pursuant to Resolution 36746.

Contact Name, Department, & Phone Number: Eric Engstrom, BPS, 823-3329

History of Agenda Item/Background:

Resolution 36746 established the Mayor's Portland Plan Advisory Group (PPAG) to assist the Bureau of Planning and Sustainability in the development of the Portland Plan. This panel will focus on reviewing the facts and strategy underlying the plan and subsequent policy choices, while the Community Involvement Committee is focused on oversight of public involvement process.

Legal Issues:

The Portland Plan is part of the state-mandated periodic review of the City's Comprehensive Plan. As such, management of the advisory committees related to this plan are subject to state oversight via the Department of Land Conservation and development (DLCD) DLCD approved the City's periodic review work plan in 2009, which included a Public Engagement Plan. The City expects to make further refinements to that engagement plan in mid 2010. Formation of the PPAG is occurring through Council resolution and by acceptance of this report in order to ensure a transparent process.

How Does This Relate to Current City Policies?

The Portland Plan will be our city's strategic plan for the next 25 years, ensuring that Portland is a thriving and sustainable city and our people are prosperous, healthy and educated. The Portland Plan is designed to bring information and ideas forward to the City Council (and our partners) to help make smart and strategic decisions — with emphasis on actions to address the difficult challenges we face.

Community Participation:

A Community Involvement Committee (CIC) has also been formed to ensure robust and inclusive public participation in the Portland Plan process and implementation.

Other Government Participation:

Our government partners include Multnomah County, PPS, David Douglas Schools, Parkrose Schools, Metro, Trimet, OHSU, PCC, PSU, PDC and East Multnomah Soil and Water Conservation District. Many of these agencies will have representation on the PPAG.

Financial Impact:

None. Management of the PPAG is included within the Bureau of Planning and Sustainability core budget.

June 9, 2010

As Mayor and Commissioner of the Bureau of Planning and Sustainability, I request confirmation of the following appointments to the Portland Plan Advisory Group, pursuant to Resolution 36746. These appointments are made for terms extending until January 31, 2011.

Appointments

Jules Bailey (State Representative) Jessie Beason (Community Land Trust) Nik Blosser (Sokol Blosser Winery) John Branam, Co-Chair (Grantmakers Ed.) John Bradley (Northwest Neighbors) John Carroll (Carroll Investments) Gale Castillo (Hispanic Metro. Chamber) Kendall Clawson (Q Center) Theresa Davis (Reynolds School District) Jeanne DeMaster (Human Solutions) Art DeMuro (Landmarks Commission) Alan Delatorre [PSU, Institute on Aging] Jillian Detweiler (Trimet) Noelle Dobson (Comm. Health Partnership) Elisa Dozono (MERC) Marianne Fitzgerald (SWNI) John Gibbon (SWNI) Karen Gray (Parkrose School District) Joyce Hendstrand (Reynolds School District) Felisa Hagins (SEIU-49) Mike Houck [Urban Greenspaces Institute] Jarrod Hogue (Mt Hood Community College) Sandy Johnson (Multnomah County Health) Deborah Kafoury (Multnomah Co. Comm.) Alan Lehto [Trimet] Paul Loney (SEUL) Kayse Jama (Ctr. Intercultural Organizing) Nicole Maher (NAYA) Katie Mangle (City of Milwaukie Planning) Scott Marshall (PSU) Carol Mayer-Reed (Mayer/Reed, ASLA) Andrew McGough (Worksystems, Inc.) Robin McArthur (Metro)

Bonnie McKnight (Citywide Land Use) Jeff Miller [Travel Portland] John Mohlis [Building Trades] Marcus Mundy (Urban League) Linda Nettekoven, Co-Chair (SEUL, CIC) Veronica Rinard (Travel Portland) Margaret Neal [PSU, Institute on Aging] Brian Newman (OHSU) Tom Puttman (Watershed Adv. Comm.) Carly Riter (PBA) Joseph Robertson (OHSU) Shelli Romero (ODOT) Barbara Rommel (David Douglas) Carmen Rubio (Latino Network) Steve Rudman (HAP) Bob Sallinger (Audubon Society) Ethan Seltzer (PSU, Urban Studies) Sam Seskin (CH2M Hill) Howard Shapiro (Planning Comm., CIC) Tom Skaar [HBA] Carole Smith (Portland Public Schools) Chris Smith (Planning Commission) Bryan Steelman (Mississippi B. Assoc.) Jeff Stuhr (Design Commission) John Sygieslski (Mt. Hood Comm. Coll.) Cam Turner (Portland Family of Funds) Veronica Valenzuela (Comm. Kafoury) Bruce Warner (PDC) Kristin Watkins (PCC) Charles Wilhoite (PDC Commissioner) Justin Wood (HBA) Justin Yuen (Sustainable Dev. Comm.)

Respectfully Submitted,

Sam Adams Mayor

Agenda No. **REPORT NO.**



AGENDA

TIME CERTAIN

CONSENT 🛛

REGULAR Total amount of time needed: (for presentation, testimony and discussion)

FOUR-FIFTHS AGENDA	COMMISSIONERS VOTED AS FOLLOWS:		
		YEAS	NAYS
1. Fritz	1. Fritz	V	
2. Fish	<mark>2.</mark> Fish	V	
3. Saltzman	3. Saltzman	~	
4. Leonard	4. Leonard	~	
Adams	Adams	\checkmark	

V140