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Purpose 

Under Paid Leave Oregon (PLO), eligible employees may be entitled to a 
leave of absence with partial or full wage replacement benefits from the 
State of Oregon Employment Department ("OED") for absences due to their 
own serious health condition (medical leave), to care for a family member 
with a serious health condition or bond with a new child (family leave), or 
for survivors to deal with the ramifications of domestic violence, criminal 
harassment, sexual assault or stalking (safe leave). 

Employee Eligibility 

Employees who work in Oregon and earned at least $1,000 from any 
Oregon employer in the year before they apply for Paid Leave may be 
eligible for benefits. Additional rules may apply to employees performing 
work in more than one state. 

Reasons for and Length of Leave 

During a benefit year, eligible employees may be entitled to: 

• Up to 12 weeks of paid family or safe leave: (1) to care for a family 
member with a serious illness or injury; (2) to bond with a new child 
after birth, adoption or foster care placement; (3) during one's own 
serious health condition; or (4) for survivors of sexual assault, 
domestic violence, criminal harassment, or stalking. 
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• Medical leave may be extended up to an additional two weeks (i.e., up 
to 14 weeks of paid medical leave benefits) if the employee 
experiences a pregnancy-related health condition, including but not 
limited to lactation issues. 

• Employees may also be entitled to additional unpaid leave benefits as 
well, subject to the provisions of the FMLA, OFLA, ADA, or other leave 
laws. To the extent possible, an employee's Paid Leave Oregon 
entitlement will run concurrently (at the same time) with any 
FMLA/OFLA leave that the employee qualifies for. 

An employee is not entitled to Paid Leave Oregon benefits for any week 
they are eligible to receive (1) workers' compensation, (2) unemployment 
benefits, or (3) other such exclusions as may be dictated by the OED. 

Definitions 

• "Benefit year" means the 52-week period beginning the Sunday 
before leave begins. 

• "Family Member" means the employee's spouse or domestic 
partner, child, parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or any 
individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with a 
covered individual is the equivalent of a family relationship, as 
determined by the State of Oregon. 

• "Child" means a biological, adopted, or foster child, a stepchild, legal 
ward, or a child to whom the employee stands in loco parentis, a legal 
guardian, as well as the "child" of the employee's spouse or domestic 
partner. 

• "Parent" means the biological, adoptive, or foster parent, stepparent, 
or legal guardian of an employee or the employee's spouse or state 
registered domestic partner, or an individual who stood in loco 
parentis to an employee when the employee was a minor, as well as 
the "parent'' of the employee's spouse or domestic partner. 

• "Grandchild" means a child of the employee's child or the 
grandchild's spouse or domestic partner. 

• "Grandparent" means a parent of the employee's parent or the 
grandparent's spouse or domestic partner. 

• "Sibling" means the sibling or stepsibling of an employee or the 
sibling's or stepsibling's spouse or domestic partner. 

Wage Replacement Benefits 

Eligible employees may receive wage replacement benefits from the OED. 
Wage replacement benefits are determined and administered by the OED, 
not the City. The amount of wage replacement benefits is calculated based 
on an employee's average weekly wage in relation to the state average 
weekly wage and is capped at a maximum weekly benefit amount that is 



adjusted annually. Payment of wage replacement benefits may be subject 
to a waiting period as determined by the OED. 

Intermittent and Reduced Schedule Leave 

Employees may take Paid Leave Oregon intermittently, which means taking 
leave in blocks of time less than a full workweek. Leave can be claimed in 
units as small as one workday. 

Payroll Deductions 

Paid Leave Oregon benefits are funded by a contribution rate determined 
by the State of Oregon. 

Requesting Leave 

Employees must file an application for Paid Leave Oregon benefits directly 
with the OED using the OED's forms, available at P-aidleave.oregon.gov. 
Employees must also provide advance notice to the City as follows: 

• When the need for PLO leave is foreseeable-e.g., an expected birth, 
placement of a child, or planned medical treatment for a serious 
health condition-the employee must provide written notice to the 
City at least 30 days in advance. 

• When 30 days' notice is not possible, such as because of a lack of 
knowledge of approximately when PLO leave will be required to begin, 
a change in circumstances, or a medical emergency, the employee 
must provide written notice to the City as soon as practicable. "As 
soon as practicable" means as soon as it is both possible and practical 
to provide notice, taking into account all of the facts and 
circumstances in the individual situation. 

• If an employee commences leave without prior notice, the employee 
must give oral notice to the employer within 24 hours and written 
notice within three days. 

• Oral notice for unforeseeable leave may be given by anyone on behalf 
of the employee. 

• Written notice for unforeseeable leave may be given by the 
employee's emergency contact person, or any other person otherwise 
specifically designated by the employee in the employer's records. 

Written notice should be provided to the employee's manager or supervisor 
and specify the (1) employee's first and last name, (2) the type of leave, (3) 
an explanation of the need for leave, and (4) anticipated timing and 
duration of the leave. Written notice includes, but is not limited to, 
handwritten or typed notices, and all forms of written electronic 
communications such as email. Failure to provide timely notice may result 



in the OED reducing an employee's first week of paid leave benefits by up 
to 25%. 

Employees must advise the City as soon as practicable if the dates of a 
scheduled PLO leave change or are extended, or if the dates of leave were 
initially unknown. Employees applying for PLO benefits must provide the 
OED supporting documentation or attestation as required by the OED. 

When using PLO concurrently with FMLA, employees must comply with the 
notice and certification requirements found at HRAR 6.05 (8) Family Medical 
Leave. 

When possible, an employee must make a reasonable effort to schedule 
treatment or supervision at times that will minimize disruption of the City's 
operations, subject to the approval of the employee's or family member's 
health care provider. 

Health Benefits 

If an employee has been employed by City for at least 90 days, the City will 
continue making contributions to employee group health benefits during 
the PLO leave on the same terms as if the employee had continued to 
actively work. Employees must continue to make the same premium 
payments that they are normally required to make for themselves or their 
dependents. 

Effect on Other Rights and Paid Leave 

When both FMLA and PLO apply, the leave provided by each will count 
against the employee's entitlement under both laws, and leave taken under 
FMLA will run concurrently with leave taken under PLO. Similar provisions 
apply for leave taken under both OFLA and PLO. 

Employees may use accrued and eligible leave accruals in addition to 
receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits to replace their wages during a period 
of qualifying Paid Leave by the OED. This is known as "topping off." 
Employees must affirmatively request that City "top off' of payments by the 
OED with accrued PTO. ''Topping off' is only available upon written request 
by the affected employee. Employees may "top off' the PLO benefit to 
supplement of the employee's average weekly wage, the amount 
adjudicated by the OED must be communicated promptly by the employee 
to City, so that the appropriate accrual usage charge may be calculated and 
paid. The employee must promptly notify the City of any changes to the 
wage replacement benefits they request or receive from the OED. 

Paid time off will accrue only on the monies paid by the City that the 
employee has elected to access to supplement PLO benefits. PLO benefits 



paid by the State will not accrue paid time off. 

Return from Leave 

Employees who were employed at least 90 days before going out on PLO 
and who return to work as scheduled at the end of PLO will be reinstated to 
the same position they held at the time the leave commenced, or to an 
equivalent position with comparable benefits, pay, and other terms and 
conditions of employment, if the position no longer exists. 

For employees who do not meet the requirements for job reinstatement 
under Paid Leave Oregon, reinstatement is not guaranteed. Other laws that 
provide for reinstatement may apply, and the City will comply with all 
applicable reinstatement requirements. 

Protected Rights 

The City takes its Paid Leave Oregon obligations very seriously and will not 
interfere with, restrain or deny the exercise of any right protected under 
PLO. The City will not discriminate or retaliate against any employee 
because that person uses or attempts to use PLO benefits. Employees who 
believe their PLO rights have been violated in any way should immediately 
report the matter to their Human Resource Business Partner or the Bureau 
of Human Resources. Any health information related to family leave, 
medical leave or safe leave is confidential and is maintained in the 
employee's medical file rather than their personnel file. Employees have 
the right to file an administrative charge with the Oregon Bureau of Labor 
and Industries or a lawsuit in Circuit Court if they believe their rights under 
the law have been violated. 

History 

Interim Rule Effective September 5, 2023 

Adopted by the Acting Director of the Bureau of Human Resources 
on March 5, 2024. 
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 Purpose 
 

Under Paid Leave Oregon (PLO), eligible employees may be 

entitled to a leave of absence with partial or full wage replacement 

benefits from the State of Oregon Employment Department 

(“OED”) for absences due to their own serious health condition 

(medical leave), to care for a family member with a serious health 

condition or bond with a new child (family leave), or for survivors 

to deal with the ramifications of domestic violence, criminal 

harassment, sexual assault or stalking (safe leave). 

 

Employee Eligibility 
 

 

Employees who work in Oregon and earned at least $1,000 from 

any Oregon employer in the year before they apply for Paid Leave 

may be eligible for benefits. Additional rules may apply to 

employees performing work in more than one state.  
 

Reasons for and Length 

of Leave 

 

During a benefit year, eligible employees may be entitled to: 

 

• Up to 12 weeks of paid family or safe leave: (1) to care for a 

family member with a serious illness or injury; (2) to bond 

with a new child after birth, adoption or foster care 

placement; (3) during one’s own serious health condition; or 

(4) for survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, criminal 

harassment, or stalking. 

• Medical leave may be extended up to an additional two weeks 

(i.e., up to 14 weeks of paid medical leave benefits) if the 

employee experiences a pregnancy-related health condition, 

including but not limited to lactation issues. 

• Employees may also be entitled to additional unpaid leave 

benefits as well, subject to the provisions of the FMLA, OFLA, 

ADA, or other leave laws. To the extent possible, an 

employee’s Paid Leave Oregon entitlement will run 

concurrently (at the same time) with any FMLA/OFLA leave 
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that the employee qualifies for. 

 

 An employee is not entitled to Paid Leave Oregon benefits for any 

week they are eligible to receive (1) workers’ compensation, (2) 

unemployment benefits, or (3) other such exclusions as may be 

dictated by the OED. 

 

Definitions  
• “Benefit year” means the 52-week period beginning the 

Sunday before leave begins. 

• “Family Member” means the employee’s spouse or 

domestic partner, child, parent, grandparent, grandchild, 

sibling, or any individual related by blood or affinity whose 

close association with a covered individual is the 

equivalent of a family relationship, as determined by the 

State of Oregon. 

 

• “Child” means a biological, adopted, or foster child, a 

stepchild, legal ward, or a child to whom the employee 

stands in loco parentis, a legal guardian, as well as the 

“child” of the employee’s spouse or domestic partner. 

 

• “Parent” means the biological, adoptive, or foster parent, 

stepparent, or legal guardian of an employee or the 

employee’s spouse or state registered domestic partner, 

or an individual who stood in loco parentis to an 

employee when the employee was a minor, as well as the 

“parent” of the employee’s spouse or domestic partner. 

 

• “Grandchild” means a child of the employee’s child or the 

grandchild’s spouse or domestic partner. 

 

• “Grandparent” means a parent of the employee’s 

parent or the grandparent’s spouse or domestic 

partner. 

 

• “Sibling” means the sibling or stepsibling of an employee 

or the sibling’s or stepsibling’s spouse or domestic 

partner. 
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Wage Replacement 

Benefits 
Eligible employees may receive wage replacement benefits from 

the OED. Wage replacement benefits are determined and 

administered by the OED, not the City. The amount of wage 

replacement benefits is calculated based on an employee’s 

average weekly wage in relation to the state average weekly wage 

and is capped at a maximum weekly benefit amount that is 

adjusted annually. Payment of wage replacement benefits may be 

subject to a waiting period as determined by the OED. 

 

Intermittent and 

Reduced Schedule 

Leave 

Employees may take Paid Leave Oregon intermittently, which 

means taking leave in blocks of time less than a full workweek. 

Leave can be claimed in units as small as one workday. 

 

Payroll Deductions Paid Leave Oregon benefits are funded by a contribution rate 

determined by the State of Oregon. 

 

Requesting Leave  

Employees must file an application for Paid Leave Oregon benefits 

directly with the OED using the OED’s forms, available at 

paidleave.oregon.gov. 

Employees must also provide advance notice to the City as follows: 

 

• When the need for PLO leave is foreseeable—e.g., an 

expected birth, placement of a child, or planned medical 

treatment for a serious health condition—the employee 

must provide written notice to the City at least 30 days in 

advance. 

 

• When 30 days’ notice is not possible, such as because of a 

lack of knowledge of approximately when PLO leave will 

be required to begin, a change in circumstances, or a 

medical emergency, the employee must provide written 

notice to the City as soon as practicable. “As soon as 

practicable” means as soon as it is both possible and 

practical to provide notice, taking into account all of the 

facts and circumstances in the individual situation. 

 

• If an employee commences leave without prior notice, the 

employee must give oral notice to the employer within 24 

https://paidleave.oregon.gov/
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hours and written notice within three days. 

 

• Oral notice for unforeseeable leave may be given by 

anyone on behalf of the employee. 

 

• Written notice for unforeseeable leave may be given by 

the employee’s emergency contact person, or any other 

person otherwise specifically designated by the employee 

in the employer’s records. 

 

Written notice should be provided to the employee’s manager or 

supervisor and specify the (1) employee’s first and last name, (2) the 

type of leave, (3) an explanation of the need for leave, and (4) 

anticipated timing and duration of the leave. Written notice 

includes, but is not limited to, handwritten or typed notices, and all 

forms of written electronic communications such as email. Failure 

to provide timely notice may result in the OED reducing an 

employee’s first week of paid leave benefits by up to 25%. 

 

Employees must advise the City as soon as practicable if the dates of 

a scheduled PLO leave change or are extended, or if the dates of 

leave were initially unknown. Employees applying for PLO 

benefits must provide the OED supporting documentation or 

attestation as required by the OED. 

 

When using PLO concurrently with FMLA, employees must comply 

with the notice and certification requirements found at HRAR 6.05 

(A) (currently HRAR 6.05), Family Medical Leave . 

 

When possible, an employee must make a reasonable effort to 

schedule treatment or supervision at times that will minimize 

disruption of the City’s operations, subject to the approval of the 

employee’s or family member’s health care provider. 

 

Health Benefits If an employee has been employed by City for at least 90 days, the 

City will continue making contributions to employee group health 

benefits during the PLO leave on the same terms as if the employee 

had continued to actively work. Employees must continue to make 

the same premium payments that they are normally required to 

make for themselves or their dependents. 

https://www.portland.gov/policies/human-resources-administrative-rules/leaves/hrar-605-family-medical-leave
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Effect on Other Rights 

and Paid Leave 

 
When both FMLA and PLO apply, the leave provided by each will 

count against the employee’s entitlement under both laws, and 

leave taken under FMLA will run concurrently with leave taken 

under PLO. Similar provisions apply for leave taken under both 

OFLA and PLO. 

 

Employees may use accrued and eligible leave accruals in addition 

to receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits to replace their wages 

during a period of qualifying Paid Leave by the OED. This is 

known as “topping off.” Employees must affirmatively request that 

City “top off” of payments by the OED with accrued PTO. “Topping 

off” is only available upon written request by the affected 

employee. Employees may “top off” the PLO benefit to supplement 

of the employee’s average weekly wage, the amount adjudicated by 

the OED must be communicated promptly by the employee to City, 

so that the appropriate accrual usage charge may be calculated 

and paid. The employee must promptly notify the City of any 

changes to the wage replacement benefits they request or receive 

from the OED. 

 

Paid time off will accrue only on the monies paid by the City that 

the employee has elected to access to supplement PLO benefits. 

PLO benefits paid by the State will not accrue paid time off. 

 

Return from Leave  
Employees who were employed at least 90 days before going out 

on PLO and who return to work as scheduled at the end of PLO will 

be reinstated to the same position they held at the time the leave 

commenced, or to an equivalent position with comparable benefits, 

pay, and other terms and conditions of employment, if the 

position no longer exists. 

For employees who do not meet the requirements for job 

reinstatement under Paid Leave Oregon, reinstatement is not 

guaranteed. Other laws that provide for reinstatement may apply, 

and the City will comply with all applicable reinstatement 

requirements.  
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Protected Rights The City takes its Paid Leave Oregon obligations very seriously and 

will not interfere with, restrain or deny the exercise of any right 

protected under PLO. The City will not discriminate or retaliate 

against any employee because that person uses or attempts to use 

PLO benefits. Employees who believe their PLO rights have been 

violated in any way should immediately report the matter to their 

Human Resource Business Partner or the Bureau of Human 

Resources. Any health information related to family leave, medical 

leave or safe leave is confidential and is maintained in the 

employee’s medical file rather than their personnel file. Employees 

have the right to file an administrative charge with the Oregon 

Bureau of Labor and Industries or a lawsuit in Circuit Court if they 

believe their rights under the law have been violated. 

 

Administrative Rule 

History 
Approved by Interim Rule on September 5, 2023 

Permanent Rule Effective March 5, 2024 approved by the Acting 

Bureau of Human Resources Director with no substantive content 

changes from Interim Rule.  
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