

Home / Council Documents

1058-2023

(Report)

Appoint and reappoint members to the Arts Education and Access Fund Oversight Committee for terms to expire December 31, 2027

Accepted

In November 2012, Portland voters approved Measure 26-146 which imposed a \$35 income tax on themselves to provide arts teachers for all K-5 students in the City of Portland, to provide grants for arts organizations, and to fund programs that provide arts access for K-12 students and underserved communities.

The Arts Education & Access Fund (AEAF) is a collaboration between Portland's residents, the City, the school districts, and the Regional Arts and Culture Council (RACC). The City assesses and collects the tax and distributes it to the school districts and RACC pursuant to the City Code and Administrative Rule provisions.

The Arts Education & Access Fund Oversight Committee (AOC) is charged with reviewing the expenditures, progress and outcomes of the Arts Education & Access Fund and reporting their findings annually to City Council.

As Mayor and Commissioner of the Office of Finance & Administration, and in partnership with the Commissioner-In-Charge of the Culture & Livability, Commissioner Dan Ryan I request Council's confirmation of the following appointments to the Arts Education Access Fund Oversight Committee:

Ilima Considine, Melanie Hernandez, Frank Medrano, Ruth Juliet Wikler, and Mark Wubbold are recommended for appointment as new members to the committee, with their 4-year term beginning on January 1, 2024, and ending on December 31, 2027. Additionally, current committee members Jenn Falco and Carlee Smith are recommended for reappointment to a second term, which will end on December 31, 2027. Appointee biographies and statements of interest are included as Exhibit A.

Member Name New Appointment or Reappointment

<u>Term</u>

<u>Term</u> <u>Expiration</u>

Introduced by

<u>Commissioner Dan Ryan; Mayor</u> <u>Ted Wheeler</u>

Bureau

Management and Finance

Contact

Jeff Hawthorne

City Arts Program Manager

J 503-865-6685

Requested Agenda Type

Time Certain

Date and Time Information

Requested Council Date

December 20, 2023

Requested Start Time

9:45 am

Time Requested

15 minutes

llima Considine	New Appointment	1 st term	December 2027
Melanie Hernandez	New Appointment	1 st term	December 2027
Frank Medrano	New Appointment	1 st term	December 2027
Ruth Juliet Wikler	New Appointment	1 st term	December 2027
Mark Wubbold	New Appointment	1 st term	December 2027
Jenn Falco	Reappointment	2 nd term	December 2027
Carlee Smith	Reappointment	2 nd term	December 2027

Respectfully submitted,

Mayor Ted Wheeler and Commissioner Dan Ryan

Documents and Exhibits

Exhibit A (https://www.portland.gov/sites/default/files/council-documents/2023/exhibit-a_aeaf-aoc-bios-statements-of-interest_4.pdf)

Impact Statement

Purpose of Proposed Legislation and Background Information

The purpose of the proposed action is to appoint 5 new members to the AEAF Oversight Committee and to reappoint 2 members for a second term.

Financial and Budgetary Impacts

This action has no financial or budgetary impact.

Community Impacts and Community Involvement

PCC 5.73.050 requires the City to appoint an oversight committee that is representative of the City's diverse communities to ensure the Arts Education and Access Fund is being implemented as required, to review expenditures made and to report their findings in a public record to the City Council on an

annual basis. Committee members collaborated with the City Arts Program to recruit these members, and seeks to recruit additional members in the spring from East Portland in the spring to ensure stronger representation of the Centennial, David Douglas, Parkrose, and Reynolds school districts.

100% Renewable Goal

This action does not contribute to the City's climate action goals.

Agenda Items

1058 Time Certain in <u>December 20, 2023 Council Agenda</u> (https://www.portland.gov/council/agenda/2023/12/20)

Confirmed

Motion to accept the report: Moved by Mapps and seconded by Gonzalez.

Commissioner Mingus Mapps Yea

Commissioner Dan Ryan Yea

Commissioner Rene Gonzalez Yea

Commissioner Carmen Rubio Yea

Mayor Ted Wheeler Absent