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AUHR 3.05 EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS 

Rule 

The employment of minors under the age of 18 is strictly regulated by state and 
federal wage and hour laws. These restrictions include the type of work minors 
may perform and the hours during which they may be employed. The Auditor’s 
Office may hire minors to perform work to generally augment some of their 
staffing needs but must ensure strict compliance with all regulations regarding 
their employment. 

 

Definition of a Minor 

Children between 14-17 years of age are minors. The laws regulating their 
employment are enforced by the State of Oregon Bureau of Labor and 
Industries. (BOLI) and the US Department of Labor (DOL). 

 

Child Labor Laws 

Where DOL and BOLI regulations differ, the stricter standard applies. 

 

Minimum Wage 

Established by Oregon State Law. 

 

Hiring Process 

Hiring a minor is similar to filling a seasonal position and requires: 

1. A completed Employment Application; and a  

2. Necessary personnel actions to add employee to the payroll.  

Minors may not be employed unless the City has been issued a current annual 
Employment Certificate by BOLI.  The City does not employ minors under the age 
of 14.  

Other requirements:  

1. Proof of age: copy of the birth certificate, driver's license, baptismal 
record, etc.  

 

http://www.boli.state.or.us/BOLI/WHD/CLU/index.shtml
http://www.boli.state.or.us/BOLI/WHD/CLU/index.shtml
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2. Job description including equipment used: copiers, computers, power 
equipment, vehicles, etc.  

3. Work Schedule: the earliest and latest work hours.  

4. Parent/School Authorization Form signed by parent/guardian and high 
school (if in session). 

 

Employer's Employment Certificate 

The Bureau of Human Resources will maintain an annual Employment Certificate 
authorizing the employment of minors by the City. The Auditor’s Office will 
report the number of minors it expects to hire in the next fiscal year so that the 
Bureau of Human Resources can file an application with the Bureau of Labor and 
Industries (BOLI) on behalf of the City authorizing such employment. 

Validated Employment Certificates shall be posted in conspicuous locations at 
the sites where minors are employed. The Auditor’s Office is responsible for the 
proper posting of the certificate. 

 

Hours of Work 

Minors 14 –15 years of age 

When school is in session: 

• Three hours per day on school days, 

• Eight hours per day on non-school days, 

• 18 hours per week maximum, 

• Only between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. 

When school is not in session: 

• Eight hours per day  

• 40 hours per week maximum, 

• From June 1 through Labor Day: 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. 

Minors 16 – 17 years of age 

Any time of year: 

• Any hours – no daily restrictions 

• 44 hours per week maximum. 

http://www.boli.state.or.us/BOLI/WHD/CLU/index.shtml
http://www.portlandonline.com/shared/cfm/image.cfm?id=10128
http://www.boli.state.or.us/BOLI/WHD/CLU/docs/wh-216-1.pdf
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Meals and Rest Periods 

• 14-15 year olds must be provided a meal period of at least 30 minutes no 
later than five hours and one minute after the minor reports to work and 
must be fully relieved of work duties during this time. 

• 16-17 year olds must be provided a meal period of at least 30 minutes no 
later than five hours and one minute after the minor reports to work and 
may work during a meal period, but must be paid for their time. 

• Rest periods of at least 15 minutes must be provided during each four 
hours (or major portion) of work time 

 

Prohibited or Hazardous Occupations 

PROHIBITED FOR MINORS UNDER 18 

• Manufacturing and storing explosives 

• Motor vehicle driving (prohibited for minors 16 and under; permitted 
under limited circumstances for minors 17 years of age.) 

• Motor vehicle outside helper 

• Logging and sawmilling 

• Using power-driven woodworking machines 

• Where there is exposure to radioactive substances 

• Using power-driven hoisting apparatus 

• Using power-driven metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines 

• Using power-driven bakery machines 

• Using power-driven paper-products machines 

• Manufacturing brick, tile and kindred products 

• Using power-driven circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears 

• Wrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking operations 

• Roofing operations 

• Excavation operations 

• Messenger service between the hours of 10:00pm and 5:00am 
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PROHIBITED FOR MINORS UNDER 16 

• Cold storage plants 

• Commercial docks 

• Construction (alteration, repair, painting, or demolition of buildings, 
bridges, and structures) 

• Firefighting 

• Gravel or sand plant or bunker 

• Land clearing (with blasting or presence of heavy equipment) 

• Logging operations 

• Lumber loading 

• Surveying 

• Window cleaning (outside above ground) 

• Wood cutting, sawing 

• All kinds of working in workshops or any premise, room, or place where 
power-driven machinery is used in or incidental to adapting articles or 
goods for sale 

• ONLY office work is allowed in the following operations:  auto wrecking 
yards, junk dealer, water works, lumbering, motor vehicles 

Managers and supervisors are responsible for the consequences of civil and 
criminal penalties for noncompliance.  As the hiring authority, the Auditor’s 
Office is responsible for complying with BOLI Child Labor Laws.  Any questions 
about BOLI standards should be directed to the Site Team Manager or the State 
agency. 

 

Human Resources Rule Information and History 

Questions about this administrative rule may be directed to the Management 
Services Division of the Auditor’s Office. 

Adopted by the City Auditor December 11, 2017. 

Adapted from City of Portland Human Resources Administrative Rule 3.05 
Employment of Minors.  

Adopted by Council March 6, 2002, Ordinance No. 176302.  

Last revised April 17, 2009. 

https://www.portlandoregon.gov/auditor/64816
https://www.portlandoregon.gov/auditor/64816

