

Whereas, in 2001, Mr. Hank Miggins was appointed as one of the nine original Citizen Review Committee members by Portland City Council; and

Whereas, Hank Miggins served on the Committee for ten years, and was Chair for many years, during his tenure Hank played a pivotal role in the creation of many of the protocols that allow for the Committee to engage in community directed oversight of the Portland Police Bureau and

Whereas, Hank Miggins steady demeanor and strong analytical abilities were in much demand in the committee's eventful early years where multiple citizen appeals of police misconduct investigations were common; and

Whereas, Hank Miggins provided culturally aware outreach when engaging with Portland's diverse community to gather feedback about policing; and

Whereas, Hank Miggins was passionate about police oversight, and made himself available to mentor committee members and the staff of the Independent Police Review; and

Whereas, Hank Miggins, upon retirement from the committee, continued his service to the City as an advisor to the committee and the Independent Police Review; and

Whereas, Hank Miggins through his lifelong commitment to accountability, equity, and justice enriched many lives in our community, his efforts continue to pay dividends; and

Mereas, Hank Miggins's leadership and life of service extended beyond Portland, including his service to our nation for 22 years as an officer in the United States Air Force, and as City Manager of Spokane, Washington; and

Whereas, Hank Miggins passed away on July 18, 2013 at the age of 78;

Now, therefore, 1, Charlie Hales, Mayor of the City of Portland, Oregon, the "City of Roses," do hereby proclaim April 20, 2016 to be a day of remembrance for

Hank Miggins

in Portland, and encourage all residents to observe this day.

Cur ff



Proclaim April 20, 2016 to be a day of remembrance for Hank Miggins in Portland (Proclamation introduced by Mayor Hales)

APR 2 0 2016

PLACED ON FILE

Filed_	APR 12 2016
	HULL CABALLERO or of the City of Portland

COMMISSIONERS VOTED AS FOLLOWS:			
	YEAS	NAYS	
1. Fritz			
2. Fish			
3. Saltzman			
4. Novick			
Hales			