
 

 

  
 
 
 
 

Directive 640.30, Child Abuse Investigations 
Executive Summary 

 
Introduction 
The Portland Police Bureau (PPB) originally developed Directive 640.30, Child Abuse Investigations, 
in September 2001 and last revised it in 2008.  The Policy Development Team initiated the review 
process to include updates and changes to Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) that have occurred since the 
last revision of this directive.   
 
Public Comments 
The Bureau conducted its universal review and comment periods in March and October 2019, 
respectively, and received limited feedback.  Comments received ranged from PPB investigators’ 
administration of a suspect’s waiver of rights, the definition of family or household member, and if 
members would take a child under 12 years old into protective custody.  
 
Suspect’s Waiver of Rights 
A public commenter highlighted the omission of the PPB’s investigators’ process to record whether a 
suspect waives their right or chooses to remain silent during an interview.  PPB agreed with the 
commenter and included a new section 1.8.1.2. in the Second Universal Review draft to address the 
issue.   
 
Definition of Family or Household Member 
A commenter requested that the definition of family or household member include language regarding 
juvenile siblings who do not or have not cohabited with the child.  The state defines this term in Oregon 
Revised Statute 107.705.  The Bureau relied on statutory language for this directive, as that is its 
general practice when defining key terms in PPB directives.  
 
Protective Custody of Children Under 12 Years of Age 
A commenter expressed concern that as written in section 1.2.2.1.1., the directive does not require a 
member to place a child under 12 years of age into protective custody if the child consents to a medical 
exam despite the parents’ refusal.  According to ORS 163.375, Rape in the First Degree, sexual 
intercourse with an individual under 12 years of age is considered a felony and as such, a member may 
place a child under protective custody if the member reasonably believes it is necessary to do so. 
 
We thank every individual who took the time to provide feedback on this directive.  All comments 
received during both review periods are attached at the end of this document.  We have removed all 
personal information to protect the privacy of commenters.  
 
The Bureau’s Revised Policy 
The Policy Development Team conducted a comprehensive restructuring of this directive for ease of 
flow in addition to incorporating information not addressed previously.  The directive now includes 



 

  

additional references to appropriate Oregon State laws, practical definitions, and more information on 
the Bureau’s participation in a multi-disciplinary team approach with other agencies regarding the 
management of child abuse cases.  The Policy Development Team also inserted section headers to 
distinguish different concepts.  The directive no longer instructs members to transport children, 
depending on age, to different hospitals, but, instead, to the hospital preferred by the parents/guardians.  
The directive also directs members to facilitate transportation through emergency medical services 
(EMS), although members may still transport a child to a medical facility. 
 
Based on feedback provided by Bureau members, section 1.4. specifically instructs members who 
document child abuse photographs or other images on Bureau issued phones to provide CARES-NW 
with the appropriate evidence prior to uploading to the Bureau’s Digital Imaging Management System 
(DIMS).  Because digital evidence is automatically deleted from the phone after being uploaded into 
DIMS, this guidance ensures CARES-NW has the information necessary for their treatment purposes.  
Additionally, the directive explicitly prohibits circulation of child sexual exploitation recordings 
between witnesses and investigators in section 1.5.1.2. to prevent further distribution of such materials.  
Possession of these materials violates Oregon State law, but for evidentiary purposes, the directive 
instructs members to inform individuals with photographic evidence to refrain from deleting it until the 
appropriate unit can extract the content from the device.   
 
The Bureau believes that the revised directive provides clearer guidance to its members; however, any 
suggestions to further improve this policy are welcome during its next review. 
 
Directive 640.30, Child Abuse Investigations, will go into effect on January 16, 2020. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
                                                                                    
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Published on 12/17/19 
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640.30, Child Abuse Investigations 
 
Refer:    

• ORS 163.160 – 185 Assaults 
• ORS 163.200 – 205  Criminal Mistreatments 
• ORS 163.545, Child Neglect II 
• ORS 163.665 – 163.693 Visual Recording of Sexual Conduct of Children 
• ORS § 161.015(8),  General Definitions for General Provisions 
• ORS 419A.255,  Maintenance; Disclosure; Providing Transcript; Exceptions to 

Confidentiality 
• ORS 419B.005, Child Abuse Definitions 
• ORS 419B.020, Duty of Department or Law Enforcement Agency 
• ORS 419B.023, Duties of Person Conducting Investigation (also known as Karly’s Law) 
• ORS 419B.150, When Protective Custody Authorized 
• Multnomah County Child Abuse Team Protocol (Multnomah County District Attorney’s 

Office) 
• DIR 640.20, Sexual Assault Kits and Sexual Assault Investigations 
• DIR 640.40, Investigations and Interviews on School Property Assistance Resource  
• DIR 825.00, Domestic Violence, Arrests, and Restraining Orders  

 
Definitions: 
• Child: An unmarried person under 18 years of age or under 21 years of age and residing in or 

receiving care or services at a child-caring agency. 
 

• Child abuse: Oregon State law defines abuse as: 
o Any physical injury to a child by other than accidental means, including any injury that 

appears to be at variance with the explanation given as cause for the injury. 
o Any mental injury to a child which shall include only observable and substantial 

impairment of the child’s mental or psychological ability to function, caused by cruelty to 
the child, with due regard to the culture of the child. 

o Sexual abuse, including but not limited to rape, sodomy, sexual assault, incest, and 
unlawful sexual penetration. 

o Sexual exploitation of a child including but not limited to visual recording of sexual 
conduct of children or allowing, permitting, encouraging, or hiring a child to engage in 
prostitution. 

o Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child including, but not limited to, failure to 
provide adequate food, clothing, shelter or medical care. 

o Threatened harm to a child, which means subjecting a child to a substantial risk of harm 
to the child’s health or welfare. 

o Buying or selling a person under 18 years of age. 
o Permitting a person under 18 years of age to enter or remain in or upon premises where 

methamphetamines are being manufactured. 
o Unlawful exposure to a controlled substance or to the unlawful manufacturing of a 

cannabinoid extract. 
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• Department of Human Services (DHS):  Oregon’s principal agency responsible for 
overseeing a wide range of assistance programs and services, to include how and where to 
report child abuse.  DHS offers a 24-hr service hotline where any individual or mandated 
reporter can or must report suspected cases of abuse.    

 
• Family or Household Member:  Spouses; former spouses; adult persons related by blood, 

marriage, or adoption; persons who are cohabiting or who have cohabited with each other; 
persons who have been involved in a sexually intimate relationship with each other within 
two years immediately preceding the filing by one of them of a petition to circuit court for 
relief; unmarried parents of a child. 
 

• Non-family member: Any person not listed as a family member, including neighbors, friends, 
teachers, other temporary child custodians and strangers. 

 
• Serious Physical Injury:  A physical injury which creates a substantial risk of death, or which 

causes serious and protected disfigurement, protracted impairment of health or protracted loss 
or impairment of function of any bodily organ.  
 

• Sexual Abuse:  Any sexual contact, by means of touching the sexual or other intimate parts of 
a person or causing such person to touch the sexual or other intimate parts of the actor for the 
purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of either party, with a person who does not 
consent or who is incapable of consenting to a sexual act because of their age, mental status, 
or because they are physically helpless.  Sexual abuse is considered a sexual offense 
punishable under Oregon State laws and include, but are limited to, rape, sodomy, unlawful 
penetration, sexual assault, and purchasing sex with a minor.  

 
• Sexual Assault Victim Advocates (SAVA):  Volunteers from either a local non-profit 

organization specializing in serving victims of sexual assault or from the District Attorney’s 
office.  These individuals respond to police requests through the Bureau of Emergency 
Communications (BOEC) to stay with a victim through hospital evaluation and care while 
also providing support and advocacy as needed. 

 
• Shelter home: A confidential location for a child to stay as determined and arranged by the 

Department of Human Services (DHS), the location of which is only known by DHS, 
Juvenile Court or the transporting member. 
 

• Suspicious physical injury:  As defined by Oregon State law, includes, but is not limited to, 
burns or scalds; extensive bruising or abrasions on any part of the body; bruising, swelling or 
abrasions on the head, neck or face; fractures of any bone in a child under the age of three; 
multiple fractures in a child of any age; dislocations, soft tissue swelling or moderate to 
severe cuts; loss of the ability to walk or move normally according to the child’s development 
ability; unconsciousness or difficulty maintaining consciousness; multiple injuries of different 
types; injuries causing serious or protracted disfigurement or loss or impairment of the 
function of any organ; and any other injury that threatens the physical well-being of a child. 

 
Policy: 
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1. Child abuse investigations are sensitive in nature.  The Portland Police Bureau (PPB) 
recognizes the importance of providing confidential and compassionate service in a 
professional manner with due care and concern for the individuals affected.  In all instances, 
the protection of children shall be the highest priority. 
 

2. As part of a multi-disciplinary team (MDT) approach, all law enforcement agencies in 
Oregon are required to write a police report and notify the Department of Human Services 
(DHS), the District Attorney’s Office, and the Child Abuse Response and Evaluation 
Services-Northwest (CARES-NW) on cases involving child abuse, even if the allegations are 
determined to be unfounded.  Therefore, PPB collaborates with other service providers 
including the Department of Human Services (DHS) child protective services, school 
officials, and local health and mental health departments to develop specific procedures and 
guidelines for investigating cases of child abuse. 

 
Procedures: 
1. Member Responsibilities. 

1.1. Responding to cases of physical injury. 
1.1.1. Members who observe a child who has suffered a suspicious physical injury shall 

ensure that a designated medical professional conducts a medical assessment 
within 48 hours.  Members shall do any of the following to fulfill this 
requirement:  

1.1.1.1. Contact CARES-NW via phone or email  to arrange for a medical 
assessment, or 

1.1.1.2. Advise the responding detective of the child’s suspicious physical injury 
and need for a medical assessment within 48 hours, or 

1.1.1.3. In the absence of a responding detective, advise the DHS Hotline for child 
abuse of the child’s suspicious physical injury and the need for a medical 
assessment within 48 hours.  

1.1.2. If the child requires emergency medical treatment or evaluation, the member shall 
request ambulance transportation to the nearest hospital or hospital of family 
choice.  If the child needs non-emergency medical treatment, the member may 
transport the child to a medical facility, preferably with another member, if 
feasible. 

1.1.2.1. Members facilitating the transportation of a child to a hospital for treatment 
of a serious physical injury shall immediately notify their supervisor who 
will contact a CAT supervisor or Detective supervisor.   

 
1.2. Responding to cases of child sexual abuse. 

1.2.1. Members shall request through their supervisors for the Detective Division 
(Detectives) Child Abuse Team (CAT) to respond in cases where: 

1.2.1.1. A child has been sexually assaulted within 120 hours. 
1.2.1.2. The victim is under 14 years of age and the suspect is a non-family member. 
1.2.1.3. The victim is under 18 years of age and the suspect is a family member. 

1.2.2. Members who have reasonable cause to believe that a child is a victim of sexual 
abuse and that physical evidence of the abuse is likely to be destroyed shall seek a 
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physical examination pursuant to Directive 640.20, Sexual Assault Kits and 
Sexual Assault Investigations.     

1.2.2.1. The responding member shall coordinate the medical treatment, physical 
examination, and sexual assault kit (SAK) of the child unless they are 
relieved of this requirement by another member or detective.  The member 
shall document in their report the time and individual who assumed 
responsibility of the case.   

1.2.2.1.1. In the event that a child under 12 years of age  refuses to have an 
examination conducted and the child’s parent or guardian refuses to 
allow medical evaluation, the member shall take the child into 
protective custody.  Members shall contact Detectives and DHS for 
assistance.  

1.2.3. Members may facilitate transportation or transport a child to the preferred 
children’s facility, Randall Children’s Hospital at Emanuel Medical Center.  On 
weekdays, members shall contact a CAT supervisor to arrange an emergency 
examination at the CARES-NW Program at Randall Children’s Hospital. 

1.2.4. Members shall request through the Bureau of Emergency Communications 
(BOEC) for a Sexual Assault Victim Advocate (SAVA) to respond to the 
appropriate hospital. 
 

1.3. Interviewing children. 
1.3.1. In the best interest of the children, it is preferable for all children to be interviewed 

by CARES-NW or a similar Child Forensic Interview Center.  For reporting 
purposes, members shall thoroughly interview the person(s) to whom the child 
disclosed the abuse. 

1.3.2. Members shall attempt to minimize the amount of interviews conducted with child 
abuse victims.  Members not specifically trained in child interview techniques 
shall refrain from interviewing children under the age of 10. 

1.3.3. For cases of physical abuse, if necessary, members may interview the child (if 
they are able to speak) using non-leading questions.  

1.3.4. For cases of sexual abuse: 
1.3.4.1. Members may interview children over the age of 10, but only to the extent 

necessary to establish a criminal allegation.   
1.3.4.2. Members shall not interview children who are 10 years of age or younger.  

These cases shall be referred to CARES-NW, the assigned DHS personnel, 
or a CAT detective.   

1.3.4.2.1. If a sexual crime occurred within 120 hours, a member may conduct a 
short interview with the child to establish if the child needs an 
immediate medical examination. 

1.3.5. If the child (or other children) is at risk by a perpetrator still within the home, a 
member may conduct a brief interview with the child to establish the need for 
protective custody. 

 
1.4. Photographic evidence. 
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1.4.1. Sworn members involved in a case of child abuse shall coordinate efforts with 
DHS workers to secure photographic evidence of abuse.  

1.4.1.1. Pursuant to Oregon law, any person conducting a child abuse investigation 
who observes a child who has suffered suspicious physical injury shall 
immediately photograph the injuries.  Anogenital injuries may only be 
photographed by a medical provider, but even these injuries must be 
photographed immediately.  

1.4.1.1.1. Members may contact CARES-NW directly via email and provide 
information regarding a child abuse case (i.e., case number, child’s 
name and birth date, and photographic evidence) as a method of 
complying with Karly’s Law.   

1.4.1.1.1.1. Any photographic evidence shall be emailed to CARES-NW 
prior to uploading into the Digital Image and Management 
System (DIMS). 

1.4.1.2. Photographs may be obtained by: 
1.4.1.2.1. The responding member. 
1.4.1.2.2. Detectives or the investigator. 
1.4.1.2.3. The Forensic Evidence Division (FED). 
1.4.1.2.4. Requesting criminalists from the participating agency or Forensics to 

respond to the scene. 
1.4.2. Sworn members shall ensure submitted photographs accurately represent size and 

scope of injuries with the use of a scale reference.  
1.4.3. If a child is taken into protective custody, sworn members who take photographs 

of the child’s injuries shall first email photographs to CARES-NW and then 
upload the images into the Digital Image Management System (DIMS) in 
accordance with Directive 640.02, Photography and Digital Imaging.  

1.4.4. Members who encounter cases of child neglect shall document unhealthy 
environments or unsafe conditions through photographs to serve as important 
photographic evidence for criminal prosecution and juvenile court purposes.   

1.4.4.1. Members shall observe the child and parent in the environment and 
document any of the following through photographs: 

1.4.4.1.1. If the parent(s) displays needle marks on their body;   
1.4.4.1.2. Unsanitary or hoarding conditions; 
1.4.4.1.3. Insect or animal infestations; 
1.4.4.1.4. Lack of food or expired dates on food products;  
1.4.4.1.5. Lack of running water;  
1.4.4.1.6. Drugs and drug paraphernalia; 
1.4.4.1.7. Weapons; and/or 
1.4.4.1.8. Uninhabitable or other unsafe conditions (e.g., broken windows, 

leaking roof).  
 

1.5. Management of sexual exploitation photographic evidence. 
1.5.1. Allegations of sexual exploitation involving visual recordings of sexual conduct 

of children have the potential to expand the investigation to a complex multi-
jurisdictional investigation.  Members responding to these calls shall: 

mailto:via
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1.5.1.1. Determine the media (printed, electronic, film, video tape, etc.) on which 
the visual recordings of sexual conduct of children exist. 

1.5.1.2. Prohibit any person from further viewing or distributing the visual 
recordings of sexual conduct of children.  This includes having any of the 
recordings duplicated or otherwise sent to the member’s email or cell 
phone.   

1.5.1.3. Members shall inform individuals who have evidence on their electronic 
devices (i.e., smartphones, tablets, computers) to not delete the recordings 
or images until they can be extracted by FED or an appropriate agency. 

1.5.1.4. Lawfully secure items of potential evidentiary value by seizing them as 
evidence under a warrant consent or other exceptions to the warrant 
requirement.  Extreme care should be taken when seizing computers and 
other electronic devices/media on which the recordings are stored to ensure 
the evidence is preserved. 

1.5.1.5. Interview and obtain clear and detailed statements from witnesses who 
observed the recordings regarding the sexual conduct depicted in the visual 
recordings. 

1.5.1.6. Notify the CAT supervisor and advise them of the circumstances in order to 
determine whether or not a detective will respond to coordinate the 
investigation. 

 
1.6. Responding to child abuse calls on public school property. 

1.6.1. If the initial response and investigation is conducted on public school premises, 
the school administrator will first be notified by a responding member, unless the 
administrator is the subject of the investigation.  According to state law, a 
designated school staff member’s presence for an interview is not required, 
therefore, the Bureau member shall use their judgment on whether to include 
them. 

 
1.7. Protective custody. 

1.7.1. A child may be taken into protective custody when: 
1.7.1.1. A child under 10 years of age is left without supervision. 
1.7.1.2. The child’s conditions or surroundings reasonably appear to jeopardize the 

child’s welfare. 
1.7.2. If a child is taken into protective custody, the member shall make reasonable 

efforts to notify the parents immediately, regardless of the time of day. 
Notification may be in person, by telephone, or in email.  Notification will include 
the following: 

1.7.2.1. Name of the child taken into custody;  
1.7.2.2. Explanation as to why the child was taken into custody; 
1.7.2.3. General information about the child’s location placement (i.e., hospital, 

shelter home, Juvenile Detention Hall [JDH], etc.); 
1.7.2.4. Scheduling information for Juvenile Court proceedings; and  
1.7.2.5. The telephone number of the DHS Hotline for child abuse. 
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1.7.2.6. A CAT supervisor may waive this notification if they determine that 
immediate notification of a parent may compromise the investigation or 
endanger other children. 

1.7.3. Under no circumstances shall the member inform an individual, including a 
parent, of the location of a foster/shelter care home, nor shall they disclose the 
location in their report. 

1.7.4. If a member intervenes and relocates a child (i.e., moves them to or 
from a shelter care, writes a medical hold, or places them with a 
relative or friend), they shall do the following: 

1.7.4.1. Write General Offense (GO) and Arrest Booking reports; 
1.7.4.2. Notify the DHS Hotline for child abuse; and 
1.7.4.3. Deliver via in-person or fax copies of police reports to Juvenile Court intake 

as soon as practical, but no later than the end of shift. 
1.7.5. If an adult caretaker is arrested for child abuse, the arresting member shall call the 

DHS Hotline for child abuse, even if the child is not taken into protective custody.   
1.7.6. The member shall take a child into protective custody when: 

1.7.6.1. The child is in immediate danger if not taken into protective custody. 
1.7.6.2. There is a threat that abuse will occur if the child is not removed from the 

home (i.e., the child has been the victim of sexual molestation by a family 
member and that family member is still in the home, likely to return to the 
home or the other members of the family are not supportive of the victim). 

1.7.6.3. There are no other alternative resources such as a relative to care for the 
child. 

1.7.7. If a DHS social worker is present at the location of the call, the member may 
allow the representative to take custody of the child.  In other circumstances, the 
member shall transport the child to a confidential destination as directed by DHS 
or the Juvenile Intake Unit.   

1.7.8. The responding member is responsible for the criminal investigation even when a 
DHS worker is present.  

 
1.8. Custody arrest. 

1.8.1. For cases where probable cause exists for criminal mistreatment 1 or misdemeanor 
assault on a child physical abuse case, members shall contact Detectives or a CAT 
supervisor; however, if no detective is available or the CAT supervisor advises the 
member to handle the case, the member shall:  

1.8.1.1. Advise the suspect of their Miranda rights; 
1.8.1.2. Record the suspect’s response to either waive their rights or invoke their 

right to remain silent.  
1.8.1.3. Interview the suspect if they waive their rights.  
1.8.1.4. Document the suspect’s statements in their police report; 
1.8.1.5. Ensure all reports are attached along with the suspect’s RegJIN/LEDS 

printout in a case envelope correspondence; 
1.8.1.6. Email photographs to CARES-NW and then upload the images into DIMS 

in accordance with Directive 640.02, Photography and Digital Imaging.  
Notify the Deputy District Attorney (DDA) once the photographs are in 
DIMS for their review.  
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1.8.1.7. Ensure the word “Custody” is appropriately displayed in a case envelope 
correspondence. 
 

1.9. Report writing. 
1.9.1. Members shall write a police report for all cases of reported physical or sexual 

child abuse, even if the allegations appear unfounded.  Under no circumstances 
shall members provide BOEC a coded radio disposition in lieu of writing a report. 

1.9.1.1. GO Reports.  
1.9.1.1.1. Members shall write a GO report if they determine that a crime has 

been committed.  
1.9.1.1.1.1. Members shall describe and document all injuries, no matter how 

minor, in the GO report. 
1.9.1.1.1.2. Members shall provide description details such as listing the 

location of injuries on the child’s body; describing each injury by 
size, shape and color; and identifying the object that caused the 
injury if known. 

1.9.1.2. Members shall write a GO report for calls they determine to be unfounded. 
1.9.1.3. Members shall write a police report when dispatched to cover DHS.  If 

multiple members respond to assist DHS, only one police report is 
necessary. 

1.9.2. Members shall write GO and Arrest Booking reports when: 
1.9.2.1. Arresting or citing a suspect,   
1.9.2.2. A child’s location is changed by a member’s intervention (i.e., shelter care, 

medical hold, or placed with a relative, friend or DHS);  
1.9.2.3. A child is taken from a current custodian and given to another person, 

including a DHS social worker. 
1.9.3. Members shall write a courtesy report for outside agencies for any of the 

following circumstances: 
1.9.3.1. When the location of occurrence is outside Portland Police jurisdiction. 
1.9.3.2. An outside agency advises they will not respond. 
1.9.3.3. An outside agency requests a courtesy report. 

1.9.4. Members shall not disclose the location of any shelter home in any report.  This is 
confidential information and may only be obtained from DHS. 

1.9.5. Members who receive a report from an individual 18 years or older reporting an 
offense that occurred when they were a juvenile, regardless of how much time has 
elapsed since, shall write a report and, if needed, make referrals. 

 
1.10. Notifying DHS. 

1.10.1. Members shall notify DHS of all suspected child abuse cases, unless the call 
originated from the DHS Hotline for child abuse.  Members shall indicate the time 
of notification at the beginning of a police report.  Members may also notify DHS 
in cases where a child witnesses domestic violence. 

 
2. Supervisor Responsibilities.  

2.1. Supervisors shall review and/or monitor child abuse investigations for completeness by 
ensuring that the following are conducted:   
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2.1.1. Verifying notification to DHS (required for protective custody or suspected child 
abuse initially discovered by members). 

2.1.2. Verifying written reports for all child abuse calls, including those unfounded. 
2.1.3. If a suspect is arrested, ensuring reports and photographs are forwarded to CAT 

Detectives as soon as practical. 
2.1.4. Ensuring notification of a CAT supervisor if a child is sexually assaulted within 

120 hours, or seriously injured and requires hospitalization. 
 

3. Detectives Responsibilities. 
3.1. When Detectives are unable to respond and investigate, Detectives shall provide advice 

in response to members’ questions and inquiries. 
 

3.2. CAT will maintain a 24-hr on-call supervisor who shall provide immediate assistance 
and advice on child victim cases.  CAT may respond after hours and on weekends upon 
approval from a CAT supervisor. 
 

3.3. A CAT Detective may be requested and assigned when the victim(s) are under 18 years 
of age and the perpetrator is a family member who is taken into custody for Rape I, 
Sodomy I, Sex Abuse I, or Unlawful Sexual Penetration I and II. 
 

3.4. Detectives shall respond to the appropriate hospital when: 
3.4.1. A child has been sexually assaulted within the last 120 hours and there is 

likelihood of obtaining evidence through a SAK. 
3.4.2. A child is hospitalized due to a suspicious serious physical injury.  

 
3.5. CAT shall receive and review copies of all child abuse reports.  A CAT supervisor may 

staff such reports with the DA and/or DHS representatives of the MDT in order to 
determine whether to assign a case for investigative follow-up or to refer the matter to 
DHS.  

 
4. Forensic Evidence Division Responsibilities. 

4.1. Criminalists shall respond to the location of a Measure 11 crime and take photographs 
of any visible injuries present on a child.   
 

4.2. When requested, Criminalists shall consult with the investigating member to determine 
what types of photographs are needed, where on a victim’s body to photograph, and the 
best location to take photographs. 

 
5. Records Division Responsibilities. 

5.1. Records will provide copies of all child abuse reports, founded and unfounded, to 
Department of Human Services (DHS), per ORS 419A.255 Maintenance; Disclosure; 
Providing Transcript; Exceptions to Confidentiality. 

 
6. Notification of Child Abuse through BOEC or the Bureau’s Operations Support Unit. 
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6.1. DHS may be the first to receive information on a child abuse case.  In these cases, DHS 
will determine if police response is necessary and will contact BOEC to dispatch a 
sworn member to respond to the call.  

6.2. Incidents of child sexual abuse may be coordinated between DHS and the Bureau’s 
Operations Support Unit (OSU), however, OSU may take the report only under the 
following conditions: 

6.2.1. The child is currently safe and away from the perpetrator and the incident is being 
reported 120 hours after occurrence. 

6.2.2. The caller is reluctant to make a direct report to a uniform member. 
6.2.3. The caller is out of the area and their local law enforcement agency will not take a 

courtesy report regarding an incident that occurred within Portland. 

History: 
• Originating Directive Date: 09/06/01
• Last Revision Signed:  12/17/19

o Effective Date:  01/16/20
• Next Review Date: 01/16/22
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640.30   CHILD ABUSE INVESTIGATIONS, Child Abuse Investigations 

Index:    Title 

 

Refer:     

• ORS 163.160 – 185 Assaults 

• ORS 163.200 – 205  Criminal Mistreatments 

• ORS 163.545 , Child Neglect II 

• ORS 163.665 – 163.693 Visual Recording of Sexual Conduct of Children 

• ORS § 161.015(8),  General Definitions for General Provisions 

• ORS 419A.255,  Maintenance; Disclosure; Providing Transcript; Exceptions to 

Confidentiality 

• ORS 419B.005 , Child Abuse Definitions 

• ORS 419B.020, Duty of Department or Law Enforcement Agency 

• ORS 419B.023, Duties of Person Conducting Investigation (also known as Karly’s Law) 

• ORS 419B.150, When Protective Custody Authorized 

DIR 640.20  Sexual Assault Investigations 

DIR 640.40  Investigations and Interviews on School Property  

Assistance Resource (CAT) 

• Multnomah County Child Abuse Team Protocol (Multnomah County District Attorney’s 

Office) 
 
POLICY (DIR 640.30) 

• The Bureau will provide confidential, sensitive service to the victim, concerned family20, 

Sexual Assault Kits and friends, while conducting thorough child abuse investigations. 

The Bureau will participate in a team approach with other service providers to protect the 

child, provide comprehensive and sensitive interviews, minimize the risk of 

contamination of evidence, and ensure the investigation is effectively and efficiently 

carried out on behalf of the child and family members involved.Sexual Assault 

Investigations 

• DIR 640.40, Investigations and Interviews on School Property Assistance Resource  

• DIR 825.00, Domestic Violence, Arrests, and Restraining Orders  

 

In all instances, the protection of children shall be the highest priority. 
 
PROCEDURE (640.30) 

Directive Specific Definitions: 

CARES-NW: The Child Abuse Response and Evaluation Services Program at Emanuel Hospital. 

• Child: An unmarried person under 18 years of age (an emancipated juvenile will not be 

considered a child).or under 21 years of age and residing in or receiving care or services at a 

child-caring agency. 

 

• Child abuse: Oregon State law defines abuse isas: 

o Any physical injury to a child by other than accidental means, including any injury that 

appears to be at variance with the explanation given as cause for the injury. 
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o Any mental injury to a child that willwhich shall include only observable and substantial 

impairment of the child’s mental or psychological ability to function, caused by cruelty to 

the child, with due regard to the culture of the child. 

o Sexual abuse, including but not limited to rape, sodomy, sexual abuseassault, incest, and 

unlawful sexual penetration. 

o Sexual exploitation of a child including but not limited to visual recording of sexual 

conduct of children or allowing, permitting, encouraging, or hiring a child to engage in 

prostitution. 

o Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child including, but not limited to, failure to 

provide adequate food, clothing, shelter or medical care. 

o Threatened harm to a child;, which means subjecting a child to a substantial risk of harm 

to the child’s health or welfare. 

Family member: A father, stepfather, mother, stepmother, brother, sister, cousin, uncle, aunt, 

grandparent/step-grandparent, parent’s/guardian’s current or former live-in boyfriend or 

girlfriend, separated or divorced parent, foster parent and a legal guardian. 

o Hotline: Refers to Buying or selling a person under 18 years of age. 

o Permitting a person under 18 years of age to enter or remain in or upon premises where 

methamphetamines are being manufactured. 

o Unlawful exposure to a controlled substance or to the Child Abuse Hotline of the 

unlawful manufacturing of a cannabinoid extract. 

 

• Department of Human Services (DHS),):  Oregon’s principal agency responsible for 

overseeing a wide range of assistance programs and services, to include how and iswhere to 

report child abuse.  DHS offers a 24-hourhr service hotline where citizensany individual or 

mandated reportersreporter can or must report suspected childcases of abuse.    

Multi-Disciplinary Team (MDT) trained members: Received the DPSST eight-hour 

supplemental Multi-Disciplinary Team MDT training course or have attended the Basic 

Academy class on MDT child abuse investigations since July 1991. 

 

• Family or Household Member:  Spouses; former spouses; adult persons related by blood, 

marriage, or adoption; persons who are cohabiting or who have cohabited with each other; 

persons who have been involved in a sexually intimate relationship with each other within 

two years immediately preceding the filing by one of them of a petition to circuit court for 

relief; unmarried parents of a child. 

 

• Non-family member: Any person not listed as a family member, including neighbors, friends, 

teachers, other temporary child custodians and strangers. 

Recent sexual assault: Includes a case of rape, sodomy, sexual penetration, etc., which has 

occurred within 84 hours previous to the initial report, where there is a likelihood medical 

evidence, (i.e., semen, DNA, trauma or other physical evidence) may be detected. 

 

Serious physical injury is: 

• Physical Injury:  A physical injury thatwhich creates a substantial risk of death, or thatwhich 

causes serious and protractedprotected disfigurement, protracted impairment of health or 

protracted loss or impairment of the functionsfunction of any bodily organ.  

a. Injuries such as serious head trauma, broken bones, serious burns, etc. 
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b. Injuries, after initial medical treatment, that requires a child to be admitted to a hospital. 

 

• Sexual Abuse:  Any sexual contact, by means of touching the sexual or other intimate parts of 

a person or causing such person to touch the sexual or other intimate parts of the actor for the 

purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of either party, with a person who does not 

consent or who is incapable of consenting to a sexual act because of their age, mental status, 

or because they are physically helpless.  Sexual abuse is considered a sexual offense 

punishable under Oregon State laws and include, but are limited to, rape, sodomy, unlawful 

penetration, sexual assault, and purchasing sex with a minor.  

 

• Sexual Assault Victim Advocates (SAVA):  Volunteers from either a local non-profit 

organization specializing in serving victims of sexual assault or from the District Attorney’s 

office.  These individuals respond to police requests through the Bureau of Emergency 

Communications (BOEC) to stay with a victim through hospital evaluation and care while 

also providing support and advocacy as needed. 

 

• Shelter home: A confidential location for a child to stay as determined and arranged by the 

Department of Human Services (DHS,), the location of which is only known by DHS, 

Juvenile Court or the transporting member. 

 

• Suspicious physical injury: Includes:  As defined by Oregon State law, includes, but is not 

limited to, burns or scalds,; extensive bruising or abrasions on any part of the body; bruising, 

swelling or abrasions on the head, neck or face; fractures of any bone in a child under the age 

of three; multiple fractures in a child of any age; dislocations, soft tissue swelling or moderate 

to severe cuts; loss of the ability to walk or move normally according to the child’s 

development ability; unconsciousness or difficulty maintaining consciousness; multiple 

injuries of different types; injuries causing serious or protracted disfigurement or loss or 

impairment of the function of any organ; and any other injury that threatens the physical well-

being of a child. 

 

Responding Member Responsibilities (640.30) 

a. In all cases of reported physical or sexual child abuse, a police report will be written. Under 

no circumstances, even if the allegations appear unfounded, will members give the Bureau of 

Emergency Communication (BOEC) a coded radio disposition in lieu of writing a report. 

Even unfounded calls require a Special Report (see member reports section) to conform to 

state child abuse reporting laws. 

b. When possible, an MDT member will handle calls of child abuse. In the event a member has 

not received MDT training and receives a child abuse call, the member will request an MDT 

trained member to respond and handle the call. In the event one is not available, the 

dispatched member will handle the call. 

1. In cases of recent sexual assault (within 84 hours) or serious physical injury where the 

child is hospitalized, the Child Abuse Team (CAT) or the Detective Division (Detectives) 

will be contacted to respond and coordinate the investigation. CAT may respond after 

hours and on weekends upon approval of a CAT supervisor. 
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2. The responding member is responsible to coordinate the medical treatment, physical 

examination, and sexual assault kit unless they are relieved of this responsibility by 

another member or detective. The member’s report will document the person who 

assumed this responsibility, and the time they did so. 

b.a.  
c.a. Protective custody. 

1. A child will be taken into protective custody by a member when: 

a) The child is in imminent danger if not taken into protective custody. 

b)a) There is a threat that abuse will occur if the child is not removed from the home 

(i.e., the child has been the victim of sexual molestation by a family member and that 

family member is still in the home, likely to return to the home or the other members 

of the family are not supportive of the victim). 

Policy: 

1. Child abuse investigations are sensitive in nature.  The Portland Police Bureau (PPB) 

recognizes the importance of providing confidential and compassionate service in a 

professional manner with due care and concern for the individuals affected.  In all instances, 

the protection of children shall be the highest priority. 

 

c) There are no other alternative resources (such as a relative) to care for the child. 

2. If a DHS worker is present, the member may give the worker custody of the child. In 

other circumstances, the member will transport the child to a confidential destination as 

directed by DHS or the Juvenile Intake Unit. 

3. In all cases where a child is taken from a current custodian and given to another person, 

including a DHS worker, a Custody Report will be written by the member. 

2. The As part of a multi-disciplinary team (MDT) approach, all law enforcement agencies in 

Oregon are required to write a police report and notify the Department of Human Services 

(DHS), the District Attorney’s Office, and the Child Abuse Response and Evaluation 

Services-Northwest (CARES-NW) on cases involving child abuse, even if the allegations are 

determined to be unfounded.  Therefore, PPB collaborates with other service providers 

including the Department of Human Services (DHS) child protective services, school 

officials, and local health and mental health departments to develop specific procedures and 

guidelines for investigating cases of child abuse. 

 

Procedures: 

1. Member Responsibilities. 

1.1. Responding to cases of physical injury. 

1.1.1. Members who observe a child who has suffered a suspicious physical injury shall 

ensure that a designated medical professional conducts a medical assessment 

within 48 hours.  Members shall do any of the following to fulfill this 

requirement:  

1.1.1.1. Contact CARES-NW via phone or email to arrange for a medical 

assessment, or 

4. Advise the responding member is responsible for the criminal investigation even when a 

DHS worker is present. 

d. A child may be taken into protective custody when: 
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1. A child under ten years of age is left without supervision. 

2.1.The child’s conditions or surroundings reasonably appear to jeopardize the child’s 

welfare. 

e. Criminal Mistreatment (ORS 163.205) is the proper charge, rather than misdemeanor assault 

charges in physical child abuse cases. This includes domestic violence situations. When a 

member makes a custody arrest for Criminal Mistreatment I, the following procedure must be 

followed: 

1. Contact a CAT supervisor. 

2. If no detective is available, or the CAT supervisor advises the member to handle the case: 

a) Advise suspect of his/her Miranda rights (using Detective’s standard form). 

b) Interview suspect after waiver of rights.  

c) Document suspect’s statements in report. 

d) Place two copies of all reports and the suspect’s PPDS/LEDS printout into a case 

envelope. 

e) If Polaroid photos are taken, place one set in the envelope for district attorney’s 

review. 

1.1.1.1.1.1.1.2. Indicate the word Custody on the upper left margin of the case 

envelope.child’s suspicious physical injury and need for a medical 

assessment within 48 hours, or 

f) Before leaving Detectives, place the envelope in the CAT mailbox for delivery to the 

CAT deputy district attorney (DDA). 

f. Unless the call originated fromIn the absence of a responding detective, advise the DHS 

Hotline, members must notify the Hotline of all suspected child abuse cases and indicate the 

time of notification at the beginning of the police report. 

1. If a child is taken into protective custody, the member will make reasonable efforts to 

notify the parents immediately, regardless of the time of day. Notification may be in 

person, by telephone, or in writing. Notification will include the following: 

a) The fact that the child has been taken into custody.  

b) The reasons why the child was taken into custody. 

c) General information about the child’s placement (i.e., hospital, shelter home, JDH, 

etc.). 

d) That a Juvenile Court hearing will occur the next court day.  

e) The telephone number of the DHS Hotline. 

2. The only exception to this notification will be at the direction of a CAT supervisor or 

where immediate notification of a parent may compromise the investigation or endanger 

other children. Under no circumstances will the member tell anyone (including a parent) 

the location of a foster/shelter care home, nor will it be listed in the member’s report. 

3. If a child’s location is changed by a member’s intervention, (i.e., shelter care, 

medical hold or placed with a relative or friend), the following must be done: 

a) A Custody Report must be written.  

b) The DHS Hotline must be notified. 

c) Copies of reports delivered to Juvenile Court intake as soon as possible, either in 

person or faxed, but in any event, prior to the end of shift. 

1.1.1.2.1.1.1.3. If an adult caretaker is arrested for child abuse, the arresting 

member will call the DHS Hotline. This must occur even if the child is not 
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taken into protective custody. of the child’s suspicious physical injury and 

the need for a medical assessment within 48 hours.  

1.1.2. In cases of physical abuse, ifIf the child is in need ofrequires emergency medical 

treatment or evaluation, they should be transported by the member shall request 

ambulance transportation to the nearest hospital or hospital of family choice.  If 

the child is in need ofneeds non-emergency medical treatment, the member may 

transport the child to a medical facility., preferably with another member, if 

feasible. 

1.1.2.1. Members facilitating or takingthe transportation of a child to a hospital for 

treatment of a serious physical injury will shall immediately notify their 

supervisor who will contact a CAT supervisor or Detective supervisor, if 

after normal business hours..   

When 

1.2. Responding to cases of child sexual abuse. 

1.2.1. Members shall request through their supervisors for the Detective Division 

(Detectives) Child Abuse Team (CAT) to respond in cases where: 

1.2.1.1. A child has been sexually assaulted within 120 hours. 

1.2.1.2. The victim is under 14 years of age and the suspect is a non-family member 

has . 

1.2.1.3. The victim is under 18 years of age and the suspect is a family member. 

1.1.3.1.2.2. Members who have reasonable cause to believe that a child is a victim of 

sexual abuse and that physical evidence of the abuse is likely to be destroyed, the 

member will follow procedures for investigating sex crimes and  shall seek a 

physical examination for the collection and preservation of evidence, (i.e., sexual 

assault kit).pursuant to Directive 640.20, Sexual Assault Kits and Sexual Assault 

Investigations.     

1.2.2.1. A childThe responding member shall coordinate the medical treatment, 

physical examination, and sexual assault kit (SAK) of the child unless they 

are relieved of this requirement by another member or detective.  The 

member shall document in their report the time and individual who assumed 

responsibility of the case.   

1.1.3.1.1.1.2.2.1.1. In the event that a child under 12 years of age or older may 

refuse  refuses to have an examination. If conducted and the child’s 

parent or guardian refuses to allow medical evaluation, the member 

willshall take the child into protective custody, telephone Juvenile 

Court for authorization for treatment or.  Members shall contact 

Detectives and DHS for assistance, and complete a Custody Report..  

a) A child 14 years of age or younger will be transported to Members may facilitate 

transportation or transport a child to the preferred children’s facility, Randall 

Children’s Hospital at Emanuel Hospital.Medical Center.  On weekdays, members 

shall contact a CAT supervisor can be contacted to arrange an emergency examination 

at the CARES-NW. 

1.1.4.1.2.3. A child 15 years or older will be transported to the Oregon Health Sciences 

University Program at Randall Children’s Hospital (OHSU).. 
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1.1.5.1.2.4. Upon notification byMembers shall request through the member, Bureau 

of Emergency Communications (BOEC will arrange) for a RapeSexual Assault 

Victim Advocate (RVASAVA) to respond to the appropriate hospital. 

Efforts will be made to minimize the number of times child abuse victims are  

1.3. Interviewing children. 

g. In the best interest of the children, it is preferable for all children to be interviewed.  

Generally, children under ten years of age should not be interviewed by members not 

specifically trained in child interview techniques. 

1. Physical abuse:CARES-NW or a similar Child Forensic Interview the child, if verbal, 

using non-leading questions. 

1.1.6.1.3.1. Sexual abuse: Children who are ten years of age or younger will not be 

interviewed, but will be referred to CARES-NW, the assigned DHS personnel or 

CAT detective. Children over ten may be interviewed, but only to the extent 

necessary to establish a criminal allegation.Center.  For reportreporting purposes, 

members shouldshall thoroughly interview the person (s) to whom the child 

disclosed the abuse. 

2. Exceptions: 

1.3.2. If the Members shall attempt to minimize the amount of interviews conducted 

with child abuse victims.  Members not specifically trained in child interview 

techniques shall refrain from interviewing children under the age of 10. 

1.3.3. For cases of physical abuse, if necessary, members may interview the child (if 

they are able to speak) using non-leading questions.  

1.3.4. For cases of sexual abuse: 

1.3.4.1. Members may interview children over the age of 10, but only to the extent 

necessary to establish a criminal allegation.   

1.3.4.2. Members shall not interview children who are 10 years of age or younger.  

These cases shall be referred to CARES-NW, the assigned DHS personnel, 

or a CAT detective.   

1.1.6.1.1.1.3.4.2.1. If a sexual crime occurred within 84120 hours, a member 

may conduct a short interview ofwith the child is necessary to establish 

if the child will need a needs an immediate medical examination. 

1.1.7.1.3.5. If the child (or other children) is at risk by a perpetrator still within the 

home, a member may conduct a brief interview with the child may be interviewed 

briefly to establish the need for protective custody. 

Members, detectives, criminalists and 

1.4. Photographic evidence. 

1.1.8.1.4.1. Sworn members involved in a case of child abuse shall coordinate efforts 

with DHS workers must coordinate efforts to secure photographic evidence of 

abuse.  

1.1.8.1.1.4.1.1. Pursuant to Oregon law (2007 HB 3328: Karly’s Law),, any person 

conducting a child abuse investigation who observes a child who has 

suffered suspicious physical injury mustshall immediately photograph the 

injuries.  Anogenital injuries may only be photographed by a medical 

provider, but even these injuries must be photographed immediately.  
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1.4.1.1.1. Members may contact CARES-NW directly via email and provide 

information regarding a child abuse case (i.e., case number, child’s 

name and birth date, and photographic evidence) as a method of 

complying with Karly’s Law.   

1.4.1.1.1.1. Any photographic evidence shall be emailed to CARES-NW 

prior to uploading into the Digital photographs and/or 

35mm,Image and Management System (DIMS). 

1.1.8.2.1.4.1.2. Photographs may be obtained by: 

1.1.8.2.1.1.4.1.2.1. The responding member. 

1.1.8.2.2.1.4.1.2.2. Detectives or the investigator. 

1.1.8.2.3.1.4.1.2.3. Taking the child toThe Forensic Evidence Division 

(ForensicsFED). 

1.1.8.2.4.1.4.1.2.4. Requesting criminalists from the participating agency or 

Forensics to respond to the scene. 

1.1.9.1.4.2. If criminal prosecution is likely, 35mm or digital photos are preferred. A 

scale reference should be used in the photograph to assist in judging theSworn 

members shall ensure submitted photographs accurately represent size and scope 

of the injuries. with the use of a scale reference.  

1. If a child is taken into protective custody, photos of the injuries may be taken for use at 

the preliminary hearing at Juvenile Court. Such photos will be delivered to Juvenile Court 

Intake as soon as possible. The photos will be handled according to DIR 660.10 Property 

and Evidence Procedures, subsection Transferring Evidence. 

1.4.3. Child neglect includes the omissionsworn members who take photographs of 

parental or caretaker responsibilities. Parents or caretakers are required to provide 

the necessities of life and protection from harm. Photographic documentation 

ofthe child’s injuries shall first email photographs to CARES-NW and then 

upload the images into the Digital Image Management System (DIMS) in 

accordance with Directive 640.02, Photography and Digital Imaging.  

1.1.10.1.4.4. Members who encounter cases of child neglect shall document unhealthy 

environments or unsafe conditions is through photographs to serve as important 

photographic evidence for criminal prosecution and juvenile court purposes. 

Specific investigative techniques include photographing:   

a) Empty cupboards, messy sinks, insects, refrigerators, clogged sinks and toilets, feces, 

beds, drugs and drug paraphernalia, weapons, broken windows and other unsafe 

conditions. 

b) The Members shall observe the child and parent in the environment. If the parent has 

needle marks, photograph them. 

c) Age dates on food containers or other items to show how long the condition has 

existed. 

h. If the initial response and investigation is conducted on public school premises, the school 

administrator will first be notified (unless the administrator is the subject of the 

investigation). By State law, it is at the member’s discretion whether a designated school staff 

member is at the interview. Their presence is not mandatory. 

i. Under no circumstances, even if the allegations appear unfounded, will members give BOEC 

a coded radio disposition in lieu of writing one of the following reports: 

1. An Investigation Report will be written if it appears a crime has been committed. 
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a) All injuries, no matter how minor will be described and documented in the report. 

b) Description of the injuries will include listing the location on the child’s body; 

describing each injury by size, shape and color; and identifying the object that caused 

the injury if known. 

2. A Special Report will be written for all other instances, including unfounded calls. 

3. A Custody Report will be written when arresting or citing a suspect or whenever a child’s 

location is changed by a member’s intervention, (i.e., shelter care, medical hold or placed 

with a relative, friend or DHS). 

1.1.10.1.1.4.4.1. Courtesy reports (Special Report) for outside agencies must be 

written for and document any of the following circumstancesthrough 

photographs: 

1.0.0.0.1.1.1.1. When the location of occurrence is outside Portland Police 

jurisdiction. 

b) An outside agency advises they will not respond.  

c) An outside agency requests a courtesy report. 

4. Do not list the location of any shelter home in any report. This is confidential information 

and may only be obtained from DHS. 

j. Members who observe a child who has suffered suspicious physical injury must ensure that a 

designated medical professional conducts a medical assessment within 48 hours.  This 

requirement may be satisfied by one of the following: 

1. Contacting CARES NW to arrange for a medical assessment. 

2. Advising the responding detective of the child’s suspicious physical injury and need for a 

medical assessment within 48 hours. 

3. In the absence of a responding detective, advising the DHS Hotline of the child’s 

suspicious physical injury and the need for a medical assessment within 48 hours. 

1.4.4.1.1. If the parent(s) displays needle marks on their body;   

1.4.4.1.2. Unsanitary or hoarding conditions; 

1.4.4.1.3. Insect or animal infestations; 

1.4.4.1.4. Lack of food or expired dates on food products;  

1.4.4.1.5. Lack of running water;  

1.4.4.1.6. Drugs and drug paraphernalia; 

1.4.4.1.7. Weapons; and/or 

1.4.4.1.8. Uninhabitable or other unsafe conditions (e.g., broken windows, 

leaking roof).  

 

1.5. Management of sexual exploitation photographic evidence. 

1.1.11.1.5.1. Allegations of sexual exploitation involving visual recordings of sexual 

conduct of children have the potential to expand the investigation to a complex 

multi-jurisdictional investigation.  Members responding to such allegations 

willthese calls shall: 

1.1.11.1.1.5.1.1. Determine the media (printed, electronic, film, video tape, etc.) on 

which the visual recordings of sexual conduct of children exist. 

1.1.11.2.1.5.1.2. Prohibit any person from further viewing or distributing the visual 

recordings of sexual conduct of children.  This includes having any of the 

recordings duplicated or otherwise sent to the member’s email or cell 

phone.   
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1.5.1.3. Members shall inform individuals who have evidence on their electronic 

devices (i.e., smartphones, tablets, computers) to not delete the recordings 

or images until they can be extracted by FED or an appropriate agency. 

1.1.11.3.1.5.1.4. Lawfully secure items of potential evidentiary value by seizing 

them as evidence under a warrant consent or other exceptions to the warrant 

requirement.  Extreme care should be taken when seizing computers and 

other electronic devices/media on which the recordings are stored to ensure 

the evidence is preserved. 

1.1.11.4.1.5.1.5. Interview and obtain clear and detailed statements from witnesses 

who observed the recordings regarding the sexual conduct depicted in the 

visual recordings. 

1.1.11.5.1.5.1.6. Notify the CAT supervisor and advise them of the circumstances in 

order to determine whether or not a detective will respond to coordinate the 

investigation. 

 

1.6. Responding to child abuse calls on public school property. 

1.6.1. If the initial response and investigation is conducted on public school premises, 

the school administrator will first be notified by a responding member, unless the 

administrator is the subject of the investigation.  According to state law, a 

designated school staff member’s presence for an interview is not required, 

therefore, the Bureau member shall use their judgment on whether to include 

them. 

 

1.7. Protective custody. 

1.7.1. A child may be taken into protective custody when: 

1.7.1.1. A child under 10 years of age is left without supervision. 

1.7.1.2. The child’s conditions or surroundings reasonably appear to jeopardize the 

child’s welfare. 

1.7.2. If a child is taken into protective custody, the member shall make reasonable 

efforts to notify the parents immediately, regardless of the time of day. 

Notification may be in person, by telephone, or in email.  Notification will include 

the following: 

1.7.2.1. Name of the child taken into custody;  

1.7.2.2. Explanation as to why the child was taken into custody; 

1.7.2.3. General information about the child’s location placement (i.e., hospital, 

shelter home, Juvenile Detention Hall [JDH], etc.); 

1.7.2.4. Scheduling information for Juvenile Court proceedings; and  

1.7.2.5. The telephone number of the DHS Hotline for child abuse. 

1.7.2.6. A CAT supervisor may waive this notification if they determine that 

immediate notification of a parent may compromise the investigation or 

endanger other children. 

1.7.3. Under no circumstances shall the member inform an individual, including a 

parent, of the location of a foster/shelter care home, nor shall they disclose the 

location in their report. 
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1.7.4. If a member intervenes and relocates a child (i.e., moves them to or 

from a shelter care, writes a medical hold, or places them with a 

relative or friend), they shall do the following: 

1.7.4.1. Write General Offense (GO) and Arrest Booking reports; 

1.7.4.2. Notify the DHS Hotline for child abuse; and 

1.7.4.3. Deliver via in-person or fax copies of police reports to Juvenile Court intake 

as soon as practical, but no later than the end of shift. 

1.7.5. If an adult caretaker is arrested for child abuse, the arresting member shall call the 

DHS Hotline for child abuse, even if the child is not taken into protective custody.   

1.7.6. The member shall take a child into protective custody when: 

1.7.6.1. The child is in immediate danger if not taken into protective custody. 

1.7.6.2. There is a threat that abuse will occur if the child is not removed from the 

home (i.e., the child has been the victim of sexual molestation by a family 

member and that family member is still in the home, likely to return to the 

home or the other members of the family are not supportive of the victim). 

1.7.6.3. There are no other alternative resources such as a relative to care for the 

child. 

1.7.7. If a DHS social worker is present at the location of the call, the member may 

allow the representative to take custody of the child.  In other circumstances, the 

member shall transport the child to a confidential destination as directed by DHS 

or the Juvenile Intake Unit.   

1.7.8. The responding member is responsible for the criminal investigation even when a 

DHS worker is present.  

 

1.8. Custody arrest. 

1.8.1. For cases where probable cause exists for criminal mistreatment 1 or misdemeanor 

assault on a child physical abuse case, members shall contact Detectives or a CAT 

supervisor; however, if no detective is available or the CAT supervisor advises the 

member to handle the case, the member shall:  

1.8.1.1. Advise the suspect of their Miranda rights; 

1.8.1.2. Record the suspect’s response to either waive their rights or invoke their 

right to remain silent.  

1.8.1.3. Interview the suspect if they waive their rights.  

1.8.1.4. Document the suspect’s statements in their police report; 

1.8.1.5. Ensure all reports are attached along with the suspect’s RegJIN/LEDS 

printout in a case envelope correspondence; 

1.8.1.6. Email photographs to CARES-NW and then upload the images into DIMS 

in accordance with Directive 640.02, Photography and Digital Imaging.  

Notify the Deputy District Attorney (DDA) once the photographs are in 

DIMS for their review.  

1.8.1.7. Ensure the word “Custody” is appropriately displayed in a case envelope 

correspondence. 

 

1.9. Report writing. 
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1.9.1. Members shall write a police report for all cases of reported physical or sexual 

child abuse, even if the allegations appear unfounded.  Under no circumstances 

shall members provide BOEC a coded radio disposition in lieu of writing a report. 

1.9.1.1. GO Reports.  

1.9.1.1.1. Members shall write a GO report if they determine that a crime has 

been committed.  

1.9.1.1.1.1. Members shall describe and document all injuries, no matter how 

minor, in the GO report. 

1.9.1.1.1.2. Members shall provide description details such as listing the 

location of injuries on the child’s body; describing each injury by 

size, shape and color; and identifying the object that caused the 

injury if known. 

1.9.1.2. Members shall write a GO report for calls they determine to be unfounded. 

1.9.1.3. Members shall write a police report when dispatched to cover DHS.  If 

multiple members respond to assist DHS, only one police report is 

necessary. 

1.9.2. Members shall write GO and Arrest Booking reports when: 

1.9.2.1. Arresting or citing a suspect,   

1.9.2.2. A child’s location is changed by a member’s intervention (i.e., shelter care, 

medical hold, or placed with a relative, friend or DHS);  

1.9.2.3. A child is taken from a current custodian and given to another person, 

including a DHS social worker. 

1.9.3. Members shall write a courtesy report for outside agencies for any of the 

following circumstances: 

1.9.3.1. When the location of occurrence is outside Portland Police jurisdiction. 

1.9.3.2. An outside agency advises they will not respond. 

1.9.3.3. An outside agency requests a courtesy report. 

1.9.4. Members shall not disclose the location of any shelter home in any report.  This is 

confidential information and may only be obtained from DHS. 

1.9.5. Members who receive a report from an individual 18 years or older reporting an 

offense that occurred when they were a juvenile, regardless of how much time has 

elapsed since, shall write a report and, if needed, make referrals. 

 

1.10. Notifying DHS. 

1.10.1. Members shall notify DHS of all suspected child abuse cases, unless the call 

originated from the DHS Hotline for child abuse.  Members shall indicate the time 

of notification at the beginning of a police report.  Members may also notify DHS 

in cases where a child witnesses domestic violence. 

 

2. Supervisor Responsibilities (640.30).  

2.1. ReviewSupervisors shall review and/or monitor child abuse investigations for 

completeness, including: by ensuring that the following are conducted:   

2.1.1. VerifyVerifying notification ofto DHS (required for protective custody or 

suspected child abuse initially discovered by members). 

a. Facilitate photographs digital for arraignment and 35mm for later prosecution. 
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2.1.2. VerifyVerifying written reports for all child abuse calls, including those 

unfounded or not. 

b. If a child was taken into custody, including protective custody, ensure Juvenile Court has 

copies of reports as soon as possible. 

2.1.3. If a suspect is arrested, ensureensuring reports and photosphotographs are 

deliveredforwarded to the CAT mailbox in Detectives as soon as 

possiblepractical. 

2.1.4. EnsureEnsuring notification of a CAT supervisor if a child is sexually assaulted 

(within 84120 hours), or seriously injured (requiringand requires hospitalization).. 

 

3. Detectives Responsibilities (640.30). 

3.1. When Detectives willare unable to respond and investigate, Detectives shall provide 

advice in response to members’ questions and inquiries. 

 

3.2. CAT will maintain a 24-hourhr on-call supervisor who willshall provide immediate 

assistance and advice on child victim cases.  CAT may respond after hours and on 

weekends upon approval from a CAT supervisor. 

 

3.3. A CAT Detective may be requested and assigned when the victim(s) are under 18 years 

of age and the perpetrator is a family member who is taken into custody for Rape I, 

Sodomy I, Sex Abuse I, or Unlawful Sexual Penetration I and II. 

 

3.3.3.4. Detectives willshall respond to the appropriate hospital when: 

3.3.1.3.4.1. A child has been sexually assaulted within the last 84120 hours and there 

is likelihood of obtaining evidence (sexual assault kit) by medical 

examinationthrough a SAK. 

3.3.2.3.4.2. A child is hospitalized due to a suspicious serious physical injury.  

 

3.4.3.5. CAT willshall receive and review copies of all child abuse reports.  A CAT 

supervisor may staff such reports with the DA and/or DHS representatives of the team. 

A decision will then be made to either MDT in order to determine whether to assign a 

case for investigative follow-up or to refer itthe matter to DHS.  

 

4. Forensic Evidence Division Responsibilities (640.30). 

a. If the child is taken into protective custody, photos of injuries will be taken for use at the 

preliminary hearing. 

4.1. If this isCriminalists shall respond to the location of a Measure 11 crime with and take 

photographs of any visible injury, Forensics will respond to take photographs.injuries 

present on a child.   

b. If criminal prosecution is likely, digital or 35mm photos of the injuries will be taken. 

 

4.2. When requested, Criminalists will confershall consult with the investigating member to 

determine what types of photosphotographs are needed, locationwhere on thea victim’s 

body to be photographedphotograph, and the best location for photographyto take 

photographs. 
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5. Records Division Responsibilities (640.30). 

5.1. Records will provide copies of all child abuse reports, founded and unfounded, to 

Department of Human Services (DHS), per ORS 419A.255 Maintenance; Disclosure; 

Providing Transcript; Exceptions to Confidentiality. 

 

BOEC Responsibilities (640.30) 
6. Should the Notification of Child Abuse through BOEC or the Bureau’s Operations Support 

Unit. 

5.2.6.1. DHS Hotline may be the first to receive the incoming call firstinformation on a 

child abuse case.  In these cases, DHS will determine if a police response is necessary 

and will contact BOEC to dispatch a uniformsworn member to takerespond to the 

report.call.  

 

5.3.6.2. Incidents of child sexual abuse canmay be coordinated between the DHS Hotline 

and the Telephone ReportBureau’s Operations Support Unit (TRU) whereby 

TRUOSU), however, OSU may take the report only under the following conditions: 

5.3.1.6.2.1. The child is currently safe and away from the perpetrator and the incident 

is being reported 84120 hours after occurrence. 

5.3.2.6.2.2. The caller is reluctant to make a direct report to a uniform member. 

5.3.3.6.2.3. The caller is out of the area and their local law enforcement agency will 

not take a courtesy report regarding an incident that occurred within Portland. 
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Q1 Please provide feedback for this directive

To Chief Outlaw, Capt. Bell, Lieutenant Morgan, PPB Policy Analysts, Compliance Officer/Community Liaison Team, Portland 
Committee on Community Engaged Policing, US Dept. of Justice, Independent Police Review, Citizen Review Committee and the 
Portland Police Bureau:

Below are Portland Copwatch's comments on the Child Abuse Investigations Directive (640.30) posted for review in March 
(https://www.portlandoregon.gov/police/article/713767).

We continue to believe that the review periods should be at least 30 days on both ends of the rewriting process so organizations who 
only meet monthly (including the PCCEP) can weigh in. We also still urge the Bureau to add letters to section headings (Definitions, 
Policy, Procedure) so that there are not multiple sections with the same numbers, and to enumerate the Definitions. 

This Directive gives the Bureau an opportunity to start taking PCW's advice, since although it was posted for review in October, 2015 
with several proposed changes, including the Bureau's now-standard numbering system, the current posted Directive has no changes 
from the version that existed at that time.

The 2015 draft included a new Policy paragraph which led us to make comments about the language, which was similar to language in 
Directive 640.20. We have also included other comments we made at the time.

--In the Policy section, rather than directing officers merely to "be sensitive" to the victim, perhaps the Bureau should state "Members 
will conduct themselves in a compassionate, professional manner with all due care and concern for the dignity and needs of all persons 
involved in the investigation."

--As with some of the other abuse Directives we've commented on, it's laudable that the Bureau requires a report, not just a radio 
check-in, for child abuse allegations ("Responding member responsibilities" section [a] and [k], numbered in 2015 as Procedure 
Sections 1.1 and 1.11). 

--In Section [e][2][a)] (numbered as 1.5.2.1 in 2015), the Directive calls for investigators to read the suspect their rights, then to begin the 
interview after the waiver of such rights; it does not note that if the person invokes their rights the interview must stop.

There are likely more issues we will address when the revised version of this Directive comes out for second universal review. 

Thank you as always for the opportunity to comment

portland copwatch
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From:
To:
Subject:
Date:

RE: Directives for Universal Review and Comment 
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 10:59:34 AM

Directive 640.30:

Definition of family or household member:  This definition appears to exclude juvenile siblings who 
do not and have no cohabitated with the child.  Adding the language “juvenile persons related by 
blood, marriage, or adoption” or remove the word “adult” should resolve that.

1.2.2.1.1:  Should this potentially be an “or” statement instead of “and”?  What if the child under 12 
years of age has not refused the examination but the parent does?  As written, this directive 
wouldn’t require protective custody of the child.

We shouldn’t include the CARES NW email address in a publicly available directive.  Their email 
address may change, and it appears as though that is an email address intended for law 
enforcement and DHS use only.  If members of the public were to send emails to the law 
enforcement CARES NW address, that could delay their response to legitimate referrals from law 
enforcement and DHS.

1.8.1.5 and 1.8.1.7:  With the shift in how case envelopes are processed, this should be rephrased.

2nd Universal Review: 10/15/19 - 11/14/19
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