

Home / Browse Council Documents

37547

Resolution

Appoint community members to the ReThink Police Accountability Commission

Adopted

Amended by Council

WHEREAS, the Portland City Charter mandates the creation of a new police accountability system; and

WHEREAS, the City Council authorized a 20 person community member Commission to develop a recommendation to Council for the derails of the structure and framework for the new accountability system; and

WHEREAS, the authorizing Resolution mandated each Council member to select five people from four different groups: members of historically overpoliced communities, representatives of organizing providing support to over policed communities, representatives of community justice organizations, and small business owners; and

WHEREAS, the City conducted a robust application process for this commission, receiving over 100 applications; and

WHEREAS, all City Council offices collaborated on the selection process for this Commission and agreed to the below selections.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the below community members are selected to serve on the Commission for a term of 18 months:

Members of Overpoliced Communities: Faythe Aiken, Nicole Cole, Tirsa Oreloana, May Saecho, Angie Tomlinson

Representatives of Organizations Serving Overpoliced Communities: Monica Arce, Meikolo Cabbage, Lovisa Lloyd, Jason Renaud, Winta Yohannes

Representatives of Community Justice Organizations: Debbie Aiona, Sophia Glenn, Dan Handelman, Seemab Huesseini, Charlene Westley

Small Business Owners: Eric Hunter, Katherine McDowell, Zoe Sigman, Eva Vega, Connie Wohn

Introduced by

Mayor Ted Wheeler

Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty

Prepared by

Derek Bradley

Date Prepared

July 19, 2021

Requested Agenda Type

Time Certain

Documents and Exhibits

Biographies & Statements of Interest (176.92 Kb)

Impact Statement

Impact Statement (166.77 Kb)

Agenda Items

619 Time Certain in July 28-29, 2021 Council Agenda

Adopted As Amended

Motion to add the biographies and statements of interest from appointees: Moved by Hardesty and seconded by Ryan. (Y-5)
Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty Yea

Commissioner Mingus Mapps Yea

Commissioner Carmen Rubio Yea

Commissioner Dan Ryan Yea

Mayor Ted Wheeler Yea

General information

<u>□ cityinfo@portlandoregon.gov</u>

3 503-823-4000

711 Oregon Relay Service

City of Portland, Oregon



© Copyright 20182021