Agenda No. 213

RESOLUTION No. 37536

Appoint and reappoint members to the Citizen Review Committee, an advisory board to the City Auditor's Independent Police Review and the Police Bureau's Internal Affairs (Resolution)

WHEREAS, the City Council adopted Ordinance 175652, June 6, 2001, establishing the Citizen Review Committee;

WHEREAS, an eleven-member Citizen Review Committee is responsible for ensuring impartial hearings of appeals, participating in public outreach efforts, and providing an advisory role to the Independent Police Review and Internal Affairs;

WHEREAS, the committee has five vacancies resulting from the resignation of four members and from completion of term by one member;

WHEREAS, a Selection Committee consisting of four Citizen Review Committee representatives, two members of the community, and five staff members from Independent Police Review reviewed 29 applications. A panel of one Citizen Review Committee member and two Independent Police Review staff members interviewed 15 candidates. They recommended 17 to the City Auditor for nomination for Council appointment;

WHEREAS, the City Auditor has nominated 17 candidates to City Council, including nine who are put forth as alternates should there be any member resignations within the term;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the City Council for the City of Portland, Oregon, appoints to the Citizen Review Committee new members Yume Delegato, Amanda Greenvoss Gregg Griffin, Jessica Katz, Kyra Pappas, Megan Colwell, Raelynn Freden, Patrick Geoghegan, James Paul Kahan, Richard Kolbell, Christopher Piekarski, Ginger Ruddell,

Introduced by Mayor Ted Wheeler

Bureau Independent Police Review

Prepared by Irene Konev

Date Prepared March 29, 2021

Requested Council Date April 7, 2021

Requested Agenda Type Time Certain

Time Requested 10:30 AM 15 minutes

Date Filed with Clerk March 30, 2021 Jennifer Springsteen, Dave Striar and reappoint Candace Avalos, Julie Falk and Vadim Mozyrsky for a three-year term. Active members' terms will commence on April 7, 2021, not to exceed three years. The alternate member's term will begin when they are seated on the committee.

Adopted by Council: April 7, 2021

MARY HULL CABALLERO

Auditor of the City of Portland By Megan Lehman

Deputy

Action taken:

Commissioners voted as follows (Yea or Nay)

Rubio - Yea

Ryan - Yea

Hardesty -

Mapps - Yea

Wheeler - Yea