CITY OF PORTLAND

Whereas, since time immemorial, wild salmon, steelhead and lamprey have been and continue to be a source of life, food, and ceremony for the Indigenous People of this land; and

Whereas, wild salmon, steelhead and lamprey are indicators of clean and healthy rivers, and are symbols of a vibrant, resilient, and livable city; and

Whereas, wild salmon, steelhead and lamprey in Portland are on the brink of extinction in the face of continued habitat degradation, overharvesting, competition from hatchery fish and other invasive fish, and climate change; and

Whereas, all salmon, steelhead and lamprey in the Columbia River and Willamette River rely on Portland's rivers and streams to survive their journeys to and from the ocean; and

Whereas, the City of Portland has been an urban leader in Oregon's protection and recovery of wild salmon, steelhead and lamprey by establishing the first Endangered Species Program and becoming the first city in the nation to certify all infrastructure and operations bureaus as Salmon-Safe; and

Whereas, in 2017 Portland designated Crystal Springs Creek as the first ever urban Salmon Sanctuary in the country; and

Whereas, Portland will continue improving and restoring salmon sanctuaries across the city's urban watersheds to support salmon and lamprey recovery; and

Whereas, together with partners, Tribal governments, and the community, we will celebrate these successes in salmon and lamprey protection and recovery at the Salmon Celebration at Johnson Creek Park on October 6, 2019;

Now, therefore, I, Ted Wheeler, Mayor of the City of Portland, Oregon, the "City of Roses," do hereby proclaim October 6, 2019 to be the

> Second Annual Salmon in our City Day in Portland, and encourage all residents to observe this day.

Proclaim October 6, 2019 to be the Second Annual Salmon in our City Day (Proclamation introduced by Mayor Wheeler and Commissioner Fish)

OCT 0 2 2019

## PLACED ON FILE

Filed	SEP <b>2 4</b> 2019		
MARY HULL CABALLERO Auditor of the City of Portland			
Ву 🦰	Deputy		

COMMISSIONERS VOTED			
AS FOLLOWS:			
	YEAS	NAYS	
1. Fritz			
2. Fish			
3. Hardesty			
4. Eudaly			
Wheeler			