

Whereas, the Fair Housing Act, enacted on April 11, 1968 was adopted to prohibit discriminatory housing practices, undo racial segregation patterns, and provide equal access to housing opportunity for all; and

Whereas, in Portland, the combined Federal, State, and civil rights laws protect people from

housing discrimination based on race, color, national origin, religion, gender, familial status, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, source of income (including housing assistance), military status, gender identity, ethnicity, or history of domestic violence, stalking or sexual assault; and

Whereas, despite these legal protections, Portland has not yet succeeded in providing equitable

access to opportunity, or removing the patterns of racial segregation that persist in housing, employment, education, and all other institutions; and

Whereas, Executive Order 12892 calls on government to Affirmatively Further Fair Housing by

addressing and removing barriers to housing choice in all Federal programs, policies, plans, resources, and activities; and

Whereas, the City of Portland, as a recipient of Federal funding, extends to all of its bureaus the obligation to understand which communities experience barriers to housing choice and why; dedicate resources to meaningfully address those disparities; and measure the impacts of these actions to all of its bureaus; and

Whereas, April 11, 2018 marks the 50th anniversary of the signing of Title VIII of the federal Civil Rights Act (the Federal Fair Housing Act) of 1968, and the 30th anniversary of the Fair Housing Act Amendments of 1988,

Now, therefore, I, Ted Wheeler, Mayor of the City of Portland, Oregon, the "City of Roses," do hereby proclaim April 2018 to be

Fair Housing Month

in Portland, and encourage all residents to observe this month.

Proclaim April 2018 to be Fair Housing Month (Proclamation introduced by Mayor Wheeler)

APR 1 1 2018

PLACED ON FILE

APR 0 3 2018

Filed

MARY HULL CABALLERO Auditor of the City of Portland

Parsons 1 pm By the

COMMISSIONERS VOTED AS FOLLOWS:		
5	YEAS	NAYS
1. Fritz		
2. Fish		
3. Saltzman		
4. Eudaly		
Wheeler		