

August 5, 2010

Dear Council Colleagues,

As Mayor and Commissioner of Finance & Administration, it is with great enthusiasm that I request your confirmation to appoint the following eleven members to the newly-created Planning and Sustainability Commission.

Position	Appointment	Terms		
		Two-Year Terms		
1	Don Hanson	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2013		
2	Michelle Rudd	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2013		
3	Jill Sherman	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2013		
4	Chris Smith	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2013		
5	Mike Houck	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2013		
6	Gary Oxman	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2013		
		Four-Year Terms		
7	Andre' Baugh	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2015		
8	Howard Shapiro	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2015		
9	Irma Valdez	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2015		
10	Lai-Lani Ovalles	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2015		
11	Karen Gray	September 13, 2010 - January 14, 2015		

The Commission will become effective on September 10, 2010. Rather than wait to appoint the new members at that time, I would like to appointment them on August 11th, with an effective date of September 13, 2010. This will ensure that the Commissioners have sufficient time to become familiar with their new responsibilities.

Respectfully submitted,

Sam Adams Mayor

1140

Agenda No. **APPOINTMENT REPORT**

Title

Appoint members to Planning and Sustainability Commission for staggered terms to expire in January 2013 and January 2015 (Report)

INTRODUCED BY Commissioner/Auditor: Mayor Adams	CLERK USE: DATE FILED AUG 06 2010
COMMISSIONER APPROVAL Mayor—Finance and Administration - Agains	LaVonne Griffin-Valade Auditor of the City of Portland
Position 1/Utilities - Fritz Position 2/Works - Fish	By:
Position 3/Affairs - Saltzman	Deputy
Position 4/Safety - Leonard	ACTION TAKEN:
BUREAU APPROVAL	
Bureau: Office of the Mayor	AUG 11 2010 CONFIRMED
Prepared by: Amy Ruiz Date Prepared:8/4/10	
Financial Impact Statement	***
Completed Amends Budget Not Required	
Council Meeting Date August 11, 2010	
City Attorney Approval	

AGENDA				
TIME CERTAIN Start time: 9:30 AM				
Total amount of time needed: 20 minutes (for presentation, testimony and discussion)				
CONSENT [
REGULAR				

FOUR-FIFTHS AGENDA	COMMISSIONERS VOTED AS FOLLOWS:		
		YEAS	NAYS
1. Fritz	1. Fritz	√ ,	
2. Fish	2. Fish	\checkmark	
3. Saltzman	3. Saltzman	\checkmark	
4. Leonard	4. Leonard	\checkmark	
Adams	Adams	√	